Pakistan win toss, elect to field against South Africa in first ODI at Bloemfontein

A lot would depend on AB de Villiers’ batting form if South Africa have to continue their dominance against Pakistan © Getty Images

Bloemfontein: Mar 10, 2013

Pakistan skipper Misbah-ul-Haq won the toss and elected to field first in the opening One-Day International match of the series at Bloemfontein on Sunday.

Pakistan come into the match after a convincing victory in the T20 International against the Proteas. However, the visitors had a torrid time in the Test series as South Africa white washed Pakistan 3-0 in the longer format.

For South Africa, Kyle Abbot will be playing his debut match. He will be playing ahead of pacer Morne Morkel

There were reports of rift within the team between Misbah-ul-Haq and Mohammad Hafeez over the team selection for the ODI series. However, the reports were soon rubbished by the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB).


South Africa: Graeme Smith, Hashim Amla, Colin Ingram, AB de Villiers(c/wk), Faf du Plessis, Farhaan Behardien, Ryan McLaren, Robin Peterson, Rory Kleinveldt, Kyle Abbott, Lonwabo Tsotsobe

Pakistan:  Nasir Jamshed, Mohammad Hafeez, Younis Khan, Asad Shafiq, Misbah-ul-Haq (c), Shoaib Malik, Kamran Akmal (wk), Shahid Afridi, Umar Gul, Saeed Ajmal, Junaid Khan

Catch live scores and ball-by-ball commentary of the first ODI between South Africa and Pakistan here