Paras Khadka    AFP (File photo)
Paras Khadka AFP (File photo)

The second edition of the Everest Premier League(EPL) was played between December 18 to December 20. The tournaments featured six teams from several Nepal cities. Biratnagar Warriors won the Everest Premier League 2017 title. Warriors also topped the table with 10 points followed by runner ups Bairahawa Gladiators 8 points.

Warriors opted to bat first at the Tribhuvan University International Cricket Ground and posted a total of 149 in 20 overs. Opener Anshuman Rath, second highest scorer in the EPL scored 41 runs and added a opening partnership of 34 runs giving the team a good start. Babar Hayat (11) the leading run scorer in EPL failed to score big in the finals. Basant Regmi, second in the list of most wickets went wicket-less but gave only 11 runs in his four overs with an economy of 2.75.

The match had a nail biting finish as the Warriors won by a run in the last over. Gladiators captain Sharad Vesawkar gave a tough fight in the second innings scoring 52 of 39 balls before getting run out.

Paras Khadka, Warriors captain was awarded the Man of the Match for his all round performance in the match. He took three wickets and scored 27 runs to take his team to victory.

Brief Scores

Biratnagar Warriors 149 (Anshuman Rath 41, Harishankar Shah 2 for 16) beat Bhairahawa Gladiators 148 (Sharad Vesawkar 52, Paras Khadka 3 for 18) by 1 run.