Shaharyar Khan were upset with Anurag Thakur's comment on boycotting Pakistan in ICC tournament's    AFP
Shaharyar Khan were upset with Anurag Thakur’s comment on boycotting Pakistan in ICC tournament’s AFP

Karachi: Disappointed by the Board of Control for Cricket in India s (BCCI) decision to boycott Pakistan on international stage, the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) has decided to give a stern reply to their Indian counterpart in the International Cricket Council (ICC) meeting to be held in Dubai on Tuesday. BCCI president Anurag Thakur recently decided against playing Pakistan in the ICC Champions Trophy league matches and asked the world cricket body not to put the two sides in same group in the wake of the escalating tension between the two nuclear-armed neighbours. PCB s Executive Committee Chairman Najam Sethi will fill in for ailing chairman Shaharyar Khan while Chief Operating Officer Subhan Ahmed will also represent the Pakistan board in the ICC meeting. ALSO READ: India may pull out of Champions Trophy 2017, says Anurag Thakur

The board has decided to give a stern reply to the BCCI and will also make a formal complaint against their remarks in the ICC meeting. The officials have gone well prepared to confront the BCCI, which is making every effort to sideline Pakistan cricket, a PCB official was quoted as saying by the Express Tribune. The PCB official added his country always wanted to keep politics and the sport aside in contrast to India who have always brought cricket into disrepute.

Meanwhile, the PCB would also seek the termination of ‘Big Three’ formula, which will help the cricket boards of India, England and Australia get a major chunk from ICC s revenue. The BCCI is expecting backing from other boards such as Bangladesh and West Indies. But we re going to oppose them during the meeting, the official said. ALSO READ: BCCI chief Thakur hits back at Miandad

On the other hand, the BCCI will raise their voice against ICC head Shashank Manohar s bid to scrap the Big Three model, which was introduced by former chief Narayanaswami Srinivasan.