A round-up of the Plate matches in round eight of the 2018-19 Vijay Hazare Trophy.
A round-up of the Plate matches in round eight of the 2018-19 Vijay Hazare Trophy.

Bihar registered a mammoth 292-run win over Sikkim and scripted a record for the biggest win in terms of number of runs during a Round 8 tie of the Vijay Hazare Trophy at the Shastri Maidan in Anand on Sunday. Baroda held the record after it defeated Assam by 279 runs last season.

Put into bat, Bihar were relentless with their stroke-play and notched 338/6 after 50 overs. Rahmat Ullah retired hurt after scoring a whopping 156 runs off 103 deliveries, while the other top scorer, Babul Kumar scored 92. In reply, Anunay Narayan Singh (3/12) and Keshav Kumar (3/7) were majorly responsible for bundling out Sikkim. The downfall began as early as the second over with Faizan Khan out for a seven-ball duck. Sikkim were all out for 46 in 31 overs.

Brief scores: Bihar 338-6 (Rahmat Ullah 156, Babul Kumar 92; Bhushan Subba 2-63, Padam 2-77) beat Sikkim 46 all out in 31 overs (Keshav Kumar 3/7, Anunay Narayan Singh 3/12)

At Nadiad, Nagaland thrashed Manipur by nine wickets. Put into bat, Manipur were bowled out 144 in 43.3 overs. Yashpal Singh top scored with 41. For Nagaland, Arun, Abrar Kazi, Imliwati andZhimoni all picked two wickets. Nagaland just needed 34.2 overs to chase down the 145-run target. A 102-run partnership between Sedezhalie (52) and Pawan KB (50) for the second wicket ensured Nagaland cruised to victory.

Brief scores: Manipur 144 (Yashpal Singh 41; Abrar Kazi 2-13) lost to Nagaland 147/1 (Sedezhalie 52, Pawan KB 50; Bishworjit 1-40) by nine wickets

At Vadodara, Uttarakhand beat Meghalaya by eight wickets. Opting to field, Uttarakhand bundled out their opposition for 141. Vaibhav was the pick of the bowlers with three for nine in his five overs. Yogesh Nagar (44) and Gurinder Singh (34) were the only batsmen who could offer some sort of resistance to a stiff Uttarakhand bowling attack. In reply, Uttarakhand chased down the target in 31 overs. Vineet Saxena remained unbeaten on 66.

Brief scores: Meghalaya 141 (Yogesh Nagar 44; Vaibhav 3/9) lost to Uttarakhand 143/2 (Vineet Saxena 66; Gurinder Singh 2/34) by eight wickets