Tasmania, Queensland, ACT/NSW Country, Western Australia and reigning champions New South Wales Metro started their 2016-17 Under 19 National Championships campaigns in winning style in Adelaide today.

NSW Metro produced a dominant nine-wicket win over the Cricket Australia XI.

Batting first, the CA XI was dismissed in the 46th over for 200, with Angus Lovell (56) and Austin Waugh (53) combining for a fourth-wicket partnership of 84.

NSW Metro shared the wickets, with Peter Francis and Lawrence Neil-Smith each taking three. In reply, Ryan Hackney (97*) and Jordan Gauci (61*) combined for an unbeaten second-wicket stand of 106 as NSW Metro strolled to the required total with 45 balls to spare.

Tasmania began their championships in style, defeating Victoria Metro by 17 runs.

Tasmania compiled an impressive 6-234, thanks mainly to half-centuries from Mac Wright (71) and Liam Devlin (54).

In reply, VIC Metro couldn t sustain the required run-rate despite a brilliant 90 from opener Damon Egan. Liam Ward took four wickets to help seal the win.

Hosts South Australia couldn t get past an impressive Queensland side.

SA made a respectable 234 on the back of half-centuries to Ben Pengelley (88) and Connor Dudley (54), however Queensland captain Nathan McSweeney (74*) and Harrison Wood (90) helped their side to a seven-wicket win.

Last year s runners-up ACT/NSW Country also had a commanding win, defeating Northern Territory by four wickets.

NT scrapped their way to 141 thanks to some tail-end hitting from Hamish Martin (32).

Ben Taylor claimed three wickets for ACT/NSW Country, before his side reached their target with 17 overs to spare.

Western Australia romped to an impressive six-wicket win against Victoria Country.

VIC Country batted first and made 8-227 from their 50 overs, with Matthew Underwood scoring 57, while Thomas Ewing chipped in with 42.

Liam Knight was the standout with ball for WA, finishing with figures of 4-33 from his 10 overs, before Aaron Hardie (90*) and Daniel Moore (77) starred with the bat as their side secured victory in the 42nd over.

Scores in Brief Round 1

Tasmania 6-234cc off 50 overs (M. Wright 71, L. Devlin 54, J. Hudson 3-47) def Victoria Metro 7-217 off 50 overs (D. Egan 90, E. Newman 47, L. Ward 4-47)

Northern Territory 141 off 45.2 overs (H. Martin 32*, B. Taylor 3-31) def by ACT/NSW Country 6-144 off 32.4 overs (A. Baldwin 42, D. Mullen 3-38)

Cricket Australia XI 200 off 45.5 overs (A. Lovell 56, A. Waugh 53, P. Francis 3-29, L. Neil-Smith 3-42) def by New South Wales Metro 1-204 off 42.3 overs (R. Hackney 97*, J. Gauci 61*)

South Australia 234 off 49.5 overs (B. Pengelley 88, C. Dudley 54, B. Street 3-31) def by Queensland 3-236 off 48 overs (H. Wood 90, N. McSweeney 74*)

Victoria Country 8-227cc off 50 overs (M. Underwood 57, T. Ewing 42, L. Knight 43) def by Western Australia 4-231 off 41.4 overs (A. Hardie 90*, D. Moore 77)

Fixtures Round 2 (all matches begin at 10am local time)

Queensland v Victoria Metro at Parkinson Oval

New South Wales Metro v ACT/NSW Country at Glandore Oval

South Australia v Victoria Country at Port Adelaide Reserve

Western Australia v Northern Territory at Rostrevor College

Cricket Australia XI v Tasmania at Scotch College