Former Australia cricketer Arthur Morris was inducted into the International Cricket Council (ICC)’s Hall of Fame by Steve Waugh during the tea break on the opening day of the third Test between Australia and Pakistan in Sydney on Tuesday. Morris, who became the 82nd player to be inducted into the ICC Cricket Hall of Fame, was given the honour posthumously. His wife Judith Morris received a personalised cap from Waugh, himself an ICC Cricket Hall of Famer. Cricket Australia (CA) Chairman David Peever was also present at the occasion. Mrs. Morris said, “It is a great honour to be receiving this award, which brings in a flood of memories along with it. I thank the ICC for recognising my husband s contribution to cricket by inducting him into the ICC Cricket Hall of Fame.”

FULL CRICKET SCORECARD: Australia vs Pakistan 3rd Test at Sydney

The year 2016 saw four players inducted into ICC Hall of Fame with Muttiah Muralitharan being the first Sri Lankan to be inducted while George Lohmann became the 27th Englishman to be inducted. Karen Rolton was the 24th Australian player to be inducted and Morris was the 23rd Australian player in the line. Waugh also congratulated, “Cricket has developed over the years and decades due to the contribution of players who entertained the crowds with their attractive game and made contests memorable due to their steely resolve. Arthur Morris was one such cricketer and that is why he is remembered even so many years after he played the game. I congratulate his family for this big honour and commend this gesture by the ICC to recognise his impact on the game of cricket.”

Below is a list of Hall of Famers over the years:

Inductee Team Year
Allan Border Australia 2009
Bill O’Reilly Australia 2009
Clarrie Grimmett Australia 2009
Dennis Lillee Australia 2009
Donald Bradman Australia 2009
Greg Chappell Australia 2009
Ian Chappell Australia 2009
Keith Miller Australia 2009
Neil Harvey Australia 2009
Ray Lindwall Australia 2009
Richie Benaud Australia 2009
Rod Marsh Australia 2009
Steve Waugh Australia 2009
Victor Trumper Australia 2009
Alan Knott England 2009
Alec Bedser England 2009
Brian Statham England 2009
Colin Cowdrey England 2009
David Gower England 2009
Denis Compton England 2009
Derek Underwood England 2009
Frank Woolley England 2009
Fred Trueman England 2009
Geoffrey Boycott England 2009
Graham Gooch England 2009
Harold Larwood England 2009
Herbert Sutcliffe England 2009
Ian Botham England 2009
Jack Hobbs England 2009
Jim Laker England 2009
Leonard Hutton England 2009
Peter May England 2009
Syd Barnes England 2009
Tom Graveney England 2009
Wally Hammond England 2009
WG Grace England 2009
Wilfred Rhodes England 2009
Bishan Singh Bedi India 2009
Kapil Dev India 2009
Sunil Gavaskar India 2009
Richard Hadlee New Zealand 2009
Hanif Mohammad Pakistan 2009
Imran Khan Pakistan 2009
Javed Miandad Pakistan 2009
Wasim Akram Pakistan 2009
Barry Richards South Africa 2009
Graeme Pollock South Africa 2009
Andy Roberts West Indies 2009
Clive Lloyd West Indies 2009
Clyde Walcott West Indies 2009
Everton Weekes West Indies 2009
Frank Worrell West Indies 2009
Garfield Sobers West Indies 2009
George Headley West Indies 2009
Gordon Greenidge West Indies 2009
Lance Gibbs West Indies 2009
Malcolm Marshall West Indies 2009
Michael Holding West Indies 2009
Rohan Kanhai West Indies 2009
Viv Richards West Indies 2009
Ken Barrington England 2010
Rachael Heyhoe-Flint England 2010
Courtney Walsh West Indies 2010
Joel Garner West Indies 2010
Alan Davidson Australia 2011
Belinda Clark Australia 2011
Fred Spofforth Australia 2011
Curtly Ambrose West Indies 2011
Glenn McGrath Australia 2012
Enid Bakewell England 2012
Brian Lara West Indies 2012
Adam Gilchrist Australia 2013
Shane Warne Australia 2013
Waqar Younis Pakistan 2013
Bob Simpson Australia 2014
Debbie Hockley New Zealand 2014
Betty Wilson Australia 2015
Anil Kumble India 2015
Martin Crowe New Zealand 2015
Wes Hall West Indies 2015
Arthur Morris Australia 2016
Karen Rolton Australia 2016
George Lohmann England 2016
Muttiah Muralitharan Sri Lanka 2016

Dave Richardson also congratulated Morris, “Arthur Morris is among the best left-handed openers that the game has ever seen. He was a key member of Bradman s Invincibles with an exceptional average, especially for an opening batsman. He was a courageous batsman whose temperament and style of play was praised liberally, even by Bradman. He is a deserving recipient of this honour and I have great pleasure in congratulating his family on behalf of the ICC.”

Morris had scored 3,533 runs in 46 Tests with a highest score of 206 that included 12 centuries and 12 half-centuries. He was also the leading run-scorer in the 1948 Ashes series in England that Australia won by 4-0. Morris was named in the Australian team of the 20th century.