Bangladesh (left) and Ireland Women qualified for the Women's World T20    ICC
Bangladesh (left) and Ireland Women qualified for the Women’s World T20 ICC

Ireland and Bangladesh became the ninth and tenth teams to qualify for the ICC Women s World T20 2018, completing the line-up of the tournament which will be held in the West Indies from November 9 to 24.

Both teams qualified after winning their ICC Women s World T20 Qualifier semi-finals, Ireland beating Papua New Guinea battling back after a tough start with the bat to post 113 for 6 before restricting their opponents effectively with the ball while a strong start and finish to the innings helped Bangladesh post 125 for 6, before, as so often, their spinners did the rest.

Elsewhere, Netherlands continued their poor tournament, wasting a good start against Uganda to lose by 6 wickets, while Thailand recorded their first win of the Women s WT20 Qualifier, bowling out UAE for 50 and chasing it down with 7 wickets in hand.

Ireland vs Papua New Guinea

Ireland confirmed their qualification for the ICC Women s World T20 with a convincing 27-run win over PNG at VRA. Ireland didn t have it all their own way; they struggled early on with the bat, with the in-form Clare Shillington (0) dismissed from the game s second ball, and four drops following in the next 3 overs, three off the unlucky Ravini Oa.

Ireland made the most of their luck through Gaby Lewis 33-ball 36 and Laura Delany s gritty 30-ball 21 and managed to post a competitive 113 for 6, with Vicky Araa s 2 for 23 and Oa s economical 0 for 10 from 3 overs serving to restrict them.

PNG struggled in reply, only hitting 2 boundaries throughout their innings. They were eventually dismissed for 86 in the 20th over, Lucy O Reilly finishing things off with her third wicket. Laura Delany (2 for 13) and Eimear Richardson (2 for 22) were also impressive.

Player of the Match, O Reilly said: I was happy with my bowling performance, but I am very happy we have qualified to be honest, there is always going to be nerves with pressure on to make sure you get to the West Indies so it is a relief. We are excited and definitely want to win the tournament, and then we can prepare for the World T20.

Bangladesh vs Scotland

Bangladesh became the 10th and final team to qualify for the Women s World T20 with a thumping 49-run victory over Scotland.

Batting first, Bangladesh made their way to a strong 125 for 6 thanks to an opening partnership of 51 between Shamima Sultana (22) and Ayasha Rahman (20) and a final burst from Nigar Sultana (31) as Bangladesh plundered 29 from the last 3 overs. In between, Scotland had done well to peg Bangladesh back, Priyanaz Chatterji s 2 for 16 and Sarah Bryce s two stumpings helping their side take 5 for 38 in 8 overs through the middle of the innings.

Scotland started slowly in their reply, but as the Bryce sisters added 43 runs for the second wicket, so their hope grew. The introduction of leg-spin, however, as has so often been the case for Bangladesh, changed the game. Sarah Bryce was stumped for 31 off Fahima Khatun to spark a collapse of 6 for 14, two of those falling to Player of the Match Rumana Ahmed (2 for 10) and though Scotland battled hard to bat out their overs, their eventual 76 for 7 was 49 runs shy of Bangladesh s total.

Rumana said: We are very excited to be in the ICC World T20 in November. This has been a big tournament for us we have done well. Our first target was qualification, and now we will look forward to try and winning the trophy.

Netherlands vs Uganda

Uganda confirmed their place in the fifth-place playoff final with a superb comeback win over hosts Netherlands, who have now lost all four of their games in the tournament so far.

Their recovery began with the ball. Netherlands added 85 for the first wicket, with captain Heather Siegers particularly aggressive in making a 43-ball 46 and Sterre Kalis not far behind, finishing with 43 from 48. But after the former fell in the 14th over, Netherlands could find the rope only once more in their innings, with Immaculate Nakisuuyi (1 for 13) bowling an economical 4-over spell to tie them down.

Netherlands 118 for 3 still looked a tough ask, and when Uganda slipped to 29 for 2 after 7 overs, it seemed it might be more than enough. But once again Uganda rallied and once again Nakisuuyi was to the fore, wresting back momentum with a 28-ball 27. She fell with the job only two-thirds done, but Getrude Candiru held her nerve, finishing on an unbeaten, 42-ball 43 to see Uganda home with 6 wickets and 9 balls to spare.

Player of the Match Candiru said: It was very tight for us, we lost early wickets and had to stabilize. After the win our spirits are high going into the final game.

UAE v Thailand

Thailand progressed to the fifth-place playoff final with a comprehensive 7-wicket win over UAE. The victory was set up in the field, with a superb team performance dismissing UAE for 50. There were three run outs, including two in one over, and miserly figures galore: only Ratanaporn Padunglerd, whose sole over cost 7, conceded more than 4 an over. Suleeporn Laomi (2 for 10) and Chanida Sutthiruang (2 for 7) claimed the pick of the figures, but this was a combined effort.

Thailand made hard work of the reply, and after 10 overs were precariously placed on 28 for 3, with Subha Srinivasan having claimed 2 for 15. The hard work they had done earlier paid off however, as captain Sornnarin Tippoch (14) and Nannapat Koncharoenkai added 23 to seal victory with 4.3 overs to spare. Remarkably, not a single boundary was hit across either innings.

Tippoch said: I am very happy, we did our best today and we had a great victory. We now take confidence into the next match, but today is our day.

Saturday s fixtures between Netherlands and UAE has been moved to a start time of 10.00 local time, followed by Uganda against Thailand which has been moved to 14.00 local time at VRA Cricket Ground, Amstelveen. The 3rd-4th place play-off and the Final at Kampong, Utrecht start times will remain at 12.00 and 16.00 local respectively.

Brief scores:

Ireland 113 for 6 in 20 overs (Gaby Lewis 36, Laura Delany 21; Vicky Araa 2 for 23) beat Papua New Guinea 86 in 19.2 overs (Brenda Tau 22, Veru Frank 16; Lucy O Reilly 3 for 13) by 27 runs.

Netherlands 118 for 3 in 20 overs (Heather Siegers 46, Sterre Kalis 43; Immaculate Nakisuuyi 1 for 13) lost to Uganda 119 for 4 in 18.3 overs (Getrude Candiru 43, Immaculate Nakisuuyi 27; Margaretha De Fouw 1 for 25) by 6 wickets with 9 balls to spare.

Bangladesh 125 for 6 in 20 overs (Nigar Sultana 31*, Shamima Sultana 22; Priyanaz Chatterji 2 for 17) beat Scotland 76 for 7 in 20 overs (Sarah Bryce 31, Kathryn Bryce 21; Rumana Ahmed 2 for 10) by 49 runs.

UAE 50 in 18.1 overs (Esha Oza 15; Chanida Sutthiruang 2 for 7) lost to Thailand 51 for 3 in 15.3 overs (Sornnarin Tippoch 14, Naruemol Chaiwai 14; S Srinivasan 2-15) by 7 wickets with 27 balls to spare.

Friday is a rest day. Fixtures for Saturday:

3rd-4th place play-off: PNG v Scotland, Kampong (12.00-14.45)

Final: Ireland v Bangladesh, Kampong (16.00-18.45)

7th-8th place play-off: Netherlands v UAE, VRA (10.00-12.45)

5th-6th place play-off: Uganda v Thailand, VRA (14.00-16.45)