Brendan Taylor will lead Zimbabwe    Getty Images
Brendan Taylor will lead Zimbabwe Getty Images

Zimbabwe will host Australia and Pakistan in a Twenty20 international (T20I) triangular series scheduled for July. After the triangular series, Pakistan will stay behind for five one-day international (ODI) matches against Zimbabwe. The triangular series will be played at Harare Sports Club in the capital, while Bulawayo s Queens Sports Club will host the ODI series.

Following months of negotiations, we are pleased to confirm we will be hosting a T20I triangular series involving Australia and Pakistan, followed by an ODI series against Pakistan, Zimbabwe Cricket Managing Director Faisal Hasnain said.

Playing two of the game s biggest teams will provide us with a very welcome litmus test as we forge ahead with our plans to develop a stronger Zimbabwe side capable of consistently competing and winning against the best, he added.

Zimbabwe and Pakistan will get the T20I series underway on Sunday, 1 July, with Australia and Pakistan playing each other the following day.

Each team will play four matches in a round-robin format, with the top two sides meeting in the final pencilled in for Sunday, 8 July. The five ODI matches between Zimbabwe and Pakistan are scheduled for 13, 16, 18, 20 and 22 July.