Preview: India A eye whitewash over New Zealand A in final unofficial ODI

Unmukt Chand has, so far, led his team by example as he scored 94 and 59 in the first two ODIs © Getty Images

Visakhapatnam: Sep 11, 2013

After clinching the ODI series with an unassailable 2-0 lead, a dominant India A will now look to complete the whitewash when they lock horns against New Zealand A in the final one-dayer at Visakhapatnam on Thursday.
Led by Unmukt Chand, India A have produced a dominating show in the three-match unofficial ODI series so far as they thrashed the visitors by six wickets in the first two games.
Their six-wicket victory on tuesday sealed the series for India A and the hosts may look to test their bench strength, giving a chance to spinner Jalaj Saxena and batsman Sanju Samson.
Chand has, so far, led his team by example as he scored 94 and 59 in the first two ODIs while his opening partner Robin Uthappa also scored a century in the lung-opener.
The Under-19 World Cup winning captain scripted a good comeback after his twin failures in the Test series to top the list of highest run-scorer in the limited-overs rubber so far and he would look for another good show from his bat to help his team inflict a whitewash on the tourists.
Uthappa, who is in ODI exile, would be hoping to produce another sparkling show after the opening ODI ton to catch the eyes of national selectors with limited overs series against West Indies and South Africa in sight.
Though the Indian middle-order batsmen didn’t have much to do in the first match, they came good in the second ODI with the likes of Mandeep Singh, Kedar Jadhav and Ashok Maneria rising to the occasion.
While Mandeep scored a 59, adding 89 runs off 103 for the third wicket with skipper Chand, Maharashtra’s Jadhav and Rajasthan left-hander Maneria, too delivered, making unbeaten 30 and 37 respectively.
Maneria, in fact, turned out to be the most valuable player when he returned with a five-wicket haul to strangle the Kiwis.
Others bowlers, led by pacer Dhawal Kulkarni, too stuck to a disciplined line and kept a check on the scoring rate of New Zealand batsmen. Kulkarni has scalped five wickets so far while spinner Rahul Sharma took three and they will be hoping to continue their good show for the team.


India A (probable): Robin Uthappa, Unmukt Chand (c), Aditya Tare (wk), Mandeep Singh, Kedar Jadhav, Ashok Menaria, Sachin Baby, R Sharma, DS Kulkarni, B Mohanty, Sandeep Sharma.

New Zealand A (probable): Luke Ronchi (wk), Anton Devcich, Carl Cachopa, Tom Latham, Colin Munro, Daryl Mitchell, Andrew Ellis (c), Scoot Kuggeleijn, Adam Milne, Mark Gillespie, Matthew Henry.