Shoaib Malik is leading Multan Sultan in PSL 3    AFP
Shoaib Malik is leading Multan Sultan in PSL 3 AFP

After all the hype around Pakistan Super League (PSL) 2018, fans finally witnessed to action in the middle. Making their PSL debut, Multan Sultans took on defending champions, Peshawar Zalmi, in opening match of the third edition.

It was the experience of Shoaib Malik and Kumar Sangakkara, that helped Sultans win their maiden game by 7 wickets at Dubai. Chasing 152 to win, Malik and Sangakarra steered their side after a poor start. Malik made unbeaten 42*, while Sangakarra top-scored with 57. Kieron Pollard struck a 13-ball 21*. Wahab Riaz was the stand out bowler for Zalmi, claiming 2 for 19.

Batting first, Zalmi lost 2 quick wickets; Tamim Iqbal for 11 and Kamran Akmal for 0. It was then Dwayne Smith and Mohammad Hafeez, who rebuilt their innings. Hafeez made 59 off 52 balls, inclusive of 6 fours and one six. In the end, it was Darren Sammy’s 11-ball 29 that took Zalmi past the 150-run mark.

Mohammad Irfan claimed 2 wickets, while others in the Zalmi camp picked one wicket apiece.

Brief scores:

Peshawar Zalmi 151 for 6 (Mohammad Hafeez 59, Darren Sammy 29; Mohammad Irfan 2 for 19) lost to Multan Sultans 152 for 3 in 19.1 overs (Kumar Sangakkara 57, Shoaib Malik 42*; Wahab Riaz 2 for 19; Mohammad Asghar 1-18) by 7 wickets

Man of the Match: Kumar Sangakkara