Rajasthan Royals will aim for their third consecutive win © IANS
Rajasthan Royals will aim for their third consecutive win © IANS

Rajasthan Royals (RR) will aim to maintain their winning momentum in the ongoing Indian Premier League (IPL) 2015 tournament, when they take on a misfiring Mumbai Indians (MI) in Match 9, at the Sardar Patel Stadium in Motera, Ahmadabad on Tuesday. Hooda attributes success to Dravid, RR’s trust in his abilities

Rajasthan will be favourites certainly for this clash as they have registered emphatic performances in both their matches so far in IPL 8, emerging victorious from positions not many backed them to. On the other hand, Mumbai Indians have been inconsistent as far as playing as unit is concerned, and they have lost both their matches. IPL 2015: Deepak Hooda emphasises on concentrating on ball rather than bowler

The match at the Sardar Patel Stadium in Motera, Ahmadabad will be a home game for the Rajasthan Royals as they are not playing any in their favourite hunting ground in Sawai Mansingh Stadium in Jaipur. However, the progress shown by the side under Steven Smith has proved that the venues do not matter to them as far as their strengths are concerned, which Rajasthan have been able to bring forward, playing their A game. Harbhajan smashes fastest fifty by a Mumbai Indians batsmen in 19 balls

Deepak Hooda has emerged as a new hero from the Rajasthan camp, which is famous for unearthing talents that take on the biggies of the game without many troubles. The right-handed batsman slammed a brilliant half-century in the match against Delhi Daredevils, which Rajasthan were able to win largely due to his knock and the last ball boundary by Tim Southee. Sachin Tendulkar to make a comeback in IPL 2015?

Rajasthan would, however, be a little concerned as their bowlers were milked for runs by the Delhi batsmen in their last match. Even the likes of James Faulkner could not control Delhi batsmen as Rajasthan were made to chase a challenging target in excess of 180.

There is no word yet on the fitness of Shane Watson, and if he turns fit ahead of the clash, Rajasthan Royals will face the problem of selecting their best XI.

On the other hand, Mumbai Indians will have to get their act together. They have been misfiring as far as performing as a unit is concerned. Mumbai have lost both their matches so far in the tournament and they will be itching to get the monkey off their shoulders. Rohit Sharma feels poor shot selections by Mumbai Indian batsmen cost them the game against Kings XI Punjab

Mumbai found unlikely heroes in Harbhajan Singh and Jagadeesha Suchith in their last match against Kings XI Punjab (KXIP) at their home, but the fact that they have passengers in form of Kieron Pollard and a few more does not promise much. The lanky all-rounder, who was axed from the West Indies national squads for lack of impressive performances, is yet to come to terms as he struggled all the way long during his innings against KXIP, and his dismissal sealed Mumbai’s fate against KXIP. MI vs KXIP, IPL 2015: Harbhajan Singh blames loss of early wickets for defeat

Rohit Sharma carries the chunk of responsibility as far as batting is concerned but Mumbai Indians would want the likes of Aaron Finch and Ambati Rayudu to step up. Mumbai did well as far as their batting was concerned in their opening match against the Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR), but it is their bowling which has let them down so far in IPL 8. Kings XI Punjab deserved to win by bigger margin against Mumbai Indians, says George Bailey

Lasith Malinga, their star bowler has looked a pale shadow of himself and the other senior, Harbhajan, too has not done much in order to handle the fort as far as bowling is concerned. The others such as Pawan Suyal and Corey Anderson have been nothing much but ordinary. As far as the form is concerned, Rajasthan Royals (RR) will be the favourites heading into this clash as they are currently playing better cricket than the Mumbai Indians (MI).


Rajasthan Royals (RR): Shane Watson (c), Abhishek Nayar, Ajinkya Rahane, Ankit Nagendra Sharma, Ben Cutting, Deepak Hooda, Dhawal Kulkarni, Dishant Yagnik, James Faulkner, Kane Richardson, Karun Nair, Pravin Tambe, Rahul Tewatia, Rajat Bhatia, Sanju Samson (wk), Steven Smith, Stuart Binny, Tim Southee, Vikramjeet Malik, Chris Morris, Juan Theron, Barinder Singh Saran, Dinesh Salunkhe, Sagar Trivedi, Pardeep Sahu.

Mumbai Indians (MI): Rohit Sharma (c), Harbhajan Singh, Lasith Malinga, Kieron Pollard, Ambati Rayudu, Lendl Simmons, Vinay Kumar,Corey Anderson, Aiden Blizzard, Jasprit Bumrah, Aditya Tare (wk), Pawan Suyal, Mitchell McClenaghan, Marchant de Lange, Unmukt Chand, Aaron Finch, Parthiv Patel, Siddhesh Lad, Abhimanyu Mithun, Shreyas Gopal, Josh Hazlewood, Pragyan Ojha, Hardik Pandya, J Suchith, Akshay Wakhare, Nitish Rana.

Time: 20.00 IST | 14.30 local

(Devarchit Varma is a reporter with CricketCountry. He can be followed on Twitter @Devarchit)