Rajshahi Kings played well to register a win Getty Images (Representational Image)

Rajshahi Kings came out hard and won the game by six wickets against Dhaka Dynamites in match 7 of the Bangladesh Premier League 2016-17. Samit Patel remained unbeaten in the run chase and played a much needed knock of 44 runs. Sabbir Rahman also shipped in with a valuable 31 before getting out when his side was on the brink of a victory. Rajshahi Kings got off to a flying start as Mominul Haque and Rony Talukdar started things well but foundered after getting a start. Umar Akmal looked good with the bat but fell prey to Aby Jayed’s persistence on 27. Rahman and Patel weathered the storm and accounted for 73 runs from there on and steered his side to a commanding position. Live Cricket Updates, DD vs RK, BPL 2016, Match 7 at Dhaka

Dhaka Dynamites bowlers didn’t have enough runs on the board to defend but put up a good show. They needed wickets but Rajshahi Kings’ batsmen didn’t provide much room for error. Mohammad Shahid picked one wicket and so did Shakib Al Hasan, while Abu Jayed also had a solitary wicket to his name. Kings have gained two valuable wickets to his name from this crucial encounter. It was a collective performance by Kings as their bowling department did well to restrict the side for a mere total of 138 after which, the batsmen got the job done.

Dhaka Dynamites got off to a shaky start and lost wickets in a heap. Mehedi Maruf looked good with the bat but was dismissed for 25. Mosaddek Hossain did a commendable job with the bat and remained unconquered on 59 to guide his side to a fighting 138. Mehedi Hasan picked couple of wickets while Samit Patel also picked two wickets and broke the spine of Dynamites’ batting. Darren Sammy’s decision of winning the toss and electing to field first turned out to be a good one as his side won the game convincingly by six wickets.

Brief scores:

Dhaka Dynamites 138 for 5 in 20 overs (Mosaddek Hossain Saikat 59*; Samit Patel 2 for 20, Mehedi Hasan 2 for 22) lost to Rajshahi Kings 139/4 in 18.1 overs (Sabbir Rahman 31, Samit Patel 44*; Abu Jayed 1 for 14) by six wickets.