Sohail Tanvir's early blows pegged back Rajshahi Kings' run-chase    Getty Images
Sohail Tanvir’s early blows pegged back Rajshahi Kings’ run-chase Getty Images

In Match 19 of Bangladesh Premier League (BPL) 2016, Comilla Victorians (CV) earned their first victory of this edition after struggling for five matches. Rajshahi Kings (RK) won the toss and elected to bowl as they restricted CV to 152 for 5 in their quota of 20 overs. Defending 153, a modest total, CV came out to bowl with a purpose and their body language showed how much they wanted a win. RK were off to a steady start but soon Sohail Tanvir’s twin blows pegged them back as other bowlers chipped in going forward. CV, in the end, defeated RK by 32 runs to take two vital points. Bangladesh Premier League (BPL) 2016: Points table and team standings

Batting first, CV lost opener Khalid Latif early but others contributed to help them cross 150-run mark. Nazmul Hossain Shanto remained the toip-scorer for his side and guided the team’s innings with a 40-ball 41. Though there was no fifty in their innings, everyone chipped in with handy knocks.

While Hossain Shanto remained in the middle for long to ensure his side gets to a modest total, Imrul Kayes, skipper, Mashrafe Mortaza, Netherlands’ Ryen ten Doeschate and Tanvir’s starts edged CV’s score to 152. It was not a stiff ask but CV were up for the challenge after a patient start by RK’s openers.

Tanvir was the difference between both sides as the moment he chipped in, wickets tumbled from one end. He was quick to remove Junaid Siddique and Sabbir Rahman. Monimul Haque was the only performer for RK as he stood tall for 53 off 43 balls. His was the only fifty from the match but could not prevent his side from going down in the match. No one stood up, even skipper Darren Sammy, to bounce back as RK lost by 32 runs.

In this way, CV got their first win and will be feeling confident by getting the monkey off their back. They get off the mark in the points table.

Brief scores:

Comilla Victorians 152 for 5 in 20 overs (Nazmul Hossain Shanto 41, Imrul Kayes 34; Darren Sammy 2 for 34, Farhad Reza 1 for 26) beat Rajshahi Kings 120 all-out in 19 overs (Monimul Haque 53, Samit Patel 12; Sohail Tanvir 4 for 18, Mohammad Saifuddin for 27) by 32 runs.