Ranji Trophy 2012: Harshad Khadiwale leads Maharashtra fightback against Karnataka

Harshad Khadiwale scored 136 off 193 balls at the Subroto Roy Sahara Stadium, pictured here during the 2012 IPL © AFP

Pune: Dec 31, 2012
Harshad Khadiwale scored a well-made century as, following on, Maharashtra produced a much-better batting effort to finish Day Three on 315 for two against Karnataka in Group B match here today.

Khadiwale scored 136 off 193 balls with the help of 19 boundaries and a lone six, while Sangram Dilip Atitkar (78) and Ankit Bawne (80 not out) also made fine contributions with the bat to keep Maharashtra in the game.

HS Sharath and Syed Khaja Moinuddin picked up a wicket each for Karnataka.

Earlier resuming at the overnight score of 58 for one, Maharashtra were bundled out for a meagre 99 in their first innings in reply to Karnataka’s 572 for nine declared.

Medium-pacer Abhimanyu Mithun scalped six wickets for 36 runs, while Stuart Binny picked up four for 37.

Following on, Maharashtra batsmen gave a better account of themselves in their second innings with Khadiwale and Atitkar sharing a 156-run opening stand.

After Atitkar’s dismissal, Khadiwale joined hands with Bawne and the duo stitched 146 runs for the second wicket to take Maharashtra forward.

At stumps on the penultimate day of the match, Maharashtra still trail Karnataka by 158 runs with eight wickets in hand.

Brief Scores: Karnataka 572 for 9 decl. lead Maharashtra 99 & 315 for 2 (Harshad Khadiwale 136, Ankit Bawne 80, Sangram Dilip Atitkar 78; HS Sharath 1 for 54) by 158 runs