Ranji Trophy 2012: Haryana deny Maharashtra outright win

Haryana were trailing Maharashtra by 28 runs with three wickets in hand at the close of play Getty Images

Pune: Dec 11, 2012

Maharashtra had to be content with three points by virtue of first innings lead after the home team failed to secure an innings victory over struggling Haryana in a Ranji Trophy Group B match on Tuesday.

All Maharashtra needed on the final day of the match was to pick up eight Haryana wickets but their bowlers failed big time as the visitors, resuming at the overnight score of 75 for two, ended their second innings at 255 for seven.

Overnight batsman Sunny Singh top-scored for Haryana with a 103-ball 54 while Abhimanyu Khod (42), skipper Amit Mishra (29), Rahul Dalal (26) and Jayant Yadav (22 not out) also made useful contributions with the bat to save the visitors from the humiliation.

For Maharashtra, Samad Fallah picked up three wickets for 59 runs while pace partner Shrikant Mundhe scalped two wickets.

Earlier, Maharashtra declared their first innings at 540 eight in reply to Haryana’s 257 all out, which ensured the hosts at least three points from the encounter.

Brief Scores: Haryana 257 & 255 for seven (Sunny Singh 54, Abhimanyu Khod 42; Samad Fallah 3 for 59) drew with Maharashtra 540 for eight decl