Ranji Trophy 2012: Karnataka bundle out Odisha for 202 in Group B tie

Karnataka were 16 for no loss when the stumps were drawn AFP

Bangalore: Nov 24, 2012

SL Akshay and Vinay Kumar shared seven wickets between them as Karnataka bundled out Odisha for just 202 on the opening day of their Ranji Trophy Group B match.

Odisha ‘s Niranjan Behera (61) Subhrajit Sahoo (45) were the only batsmen who brought some honour to the visitors’ score on a day dominated by bowlers.

Apart from Akshay (4/40) and Vinay Kumar (3/31) HS Sharath and Stuart Binny took two and one wicket each respectively for the hosts, who opted to field.

Replying to Odisha ‘s modest total, Karnataka were 16 for no loss with Robin Uthappa and KB Pawan batting on four and eight respectively.

Opting to bat first, Odisha got off to a bad start losing three quick wickets with just 36 runs on the board. Sharath drew first blood for the hosts to see off Nataraj Behera (0) and then Vinay Kumar and Akshay scalped S D Mulia (14) and G B Podder (4).

However, B B Samantray and Niranjan Behera (61) weaved a valuable 51 runs partnership, before the former (28) was rattled by Sharath leaving the visitors suddenly reeling at 87 for four.

Thereafter, Subhrajit Sahoo came to the crease and in the able company of already set Behera managed to consolidate the innings and help steady the boat a bit.

Soon after tea, Vinay Kumar struck two quick blows, sending Niranjan Behera and DR Behera (0) back to the hut.

After Niranjan’s fall, the remaining Odisha batsmen fell like nine pins, but could manage to cross the 200-run mark.