Bengal trail Rajasthan by 72 runs with seven wickets in hand  AFP (Representational Picture)

©Jaipur: Nov 8, 2013

Left-handed opener Rohan Banerjee struck a patient 77 as Bengal reached 172 for three at stumps on the second day after bowling out Rajasthan of 244 in the first innings in a group B Ranji Trophy encounter at the Sawai Mansingh Stadium in Jaipur on Friday.

Starting the day at 222 for six, hosts lost their last four wickets for addition of only 22 runs on the day.

At close of play, Wriddhiman Saha (34) and Subhomoy Das (0) were at the crease as Banerjee was adjudged leg before in the second last over of the day off left-arm seamer Aniket Chaudhary’s (2/39) bowling. Banerjee faced 221 balls and hit nine boundaries. The visitors faced 66 overs on the day.

Bengal need another 73 runs to take the all important first innings lead.

Bengal speedster Ashok Dinda returned with figures of four for 58 in 28 overs taking three out of the four wickets that fell on the day. Veteran opener Vineet Saxena (119 not out) carried his bat through the innings as he faced 299 balls hitting 15 boundaries in the process.

Bengal openers Banerjee and right-hander Arindam Das (32) started on a cautious note as they added 92 runs in 37 overs without taking too many risks.

As has been the case for the past decade, Das again threw his wicket away having got set playing 104 deliveries as seasoned Pankaj Singh cleaned him up.

Anustup Majumdar (11) hit a couple of boundaries but was then trapped in-front of the wicket by a delivery from Chaudhary that held its line.

At 108 for two, Banerjee and Saha got together adding 64 runs for the third wicket. Saha’s unbeaten 63-ball knock had four boundaries. Banerjee on the otherhand waited patiently for the loose balls and avoided playing risky shots.

As he was playing for stumps, Chaudhary got one to cut back sharply as he was rapped on the pads. Only one over of play was possible after Banerjee was dismissed.

Brief scores:

Rajasthan 244 (Vineet Saxena 119*, Ashok Dinda 4 for 58, Shib Shankar Paul 2 for 41) lead Bengal 172 for 3 (Rohan Banerjee 77, Wriddhiman Saha 34*, Arindam Das 32, Aniket Chaudhary 2 for 39) by 72 runs.