Odisha will play Maharashtra in their first game of the 2014-15 Ranji season
Odisha will play Maharashtra on their first game of the 2014-15 Ranji season © Getty Images (Representational Photo)

Cuttack: Dec 3, 2014

Odisha picked a 15-member Ranji Trophy squad to be led by Abhilash Mallick for their opener against Maharastra in the Group B league from December 7. Coached by former India seamer Debasis Mohanty, the squad has former Test opener Shiv Sundar Das as batting coach. The team will leave for Pune on December 4.

Another East Zone team Jharkhand, also picked their 17 probables for the upcoming Ranji Trophy 2014-15 recently. The shortlisted players will attend a camp, to be held in Ranchi from Thursday, and a final squad will be picked after that. Varun Aaron, Jharkhand’s premier fast bowler, is in Australia with the Indian team and will not be available for them early in the tournament. If he is picked for the tri-series that follows, Jharkhand may be without him for a long time.

Odisha Squad:

Abhilash Mallick (c), Natraj Behera, Girija Rout, Niranjan Behera, Biplab Samantray, Govind Podder, Aravind Singh, Anurag Sarangi, Haladhar Das (wk), Subhrajit Sahu, Deepak Behera, Suryakant Pradhan, Alok Mangraj, Dhiraj Singh and Tukuna Sahu.