Dec 10, 2014

Hosts Maharashtra collected three points on the basis of taking the crucial first-innings lead in their Group B Ranji Trophy cricket match against Odisha here today. In their second innings, Odisha scored 178 for five before the final day’s play ended at the Maharashtra Cricket Association Stadium. Maharashtra had responded with 371 all out after Odisha were bowled out for 311 in their first innings.

On the fourth day Natraj Behera, who had made 66 in the first-innings, top-scored for Odisha with a knock of 74 that came off 189 balls. The opener struck eight boundaries during his 274-minutes stay at the crease. Akshay Darekar was the best bowler for Maharashtra, returning figures of 3/32 in 19 overs, while Samadh Fallah and Shrikant Mundhe had a wicket each.

Earlier in the morning, Odisha resumed their second innings at an overnight score of 1 for no loss with Behera and Girija Rout in the middle.

Brief scores: Odisha: 311 and 178 for five vs Maharashtra: 371