Abhishek Nayar remained not-out on 45 AFP

Mumbai in their first match of the Ranji Trophy 2016-17 defeated Tamil Nadu by 2-wickets. Mumbai toiled hard to somehow manage a win after Tamil Nadu set a target of 97 runs to win. It was Abhishek Nayar who remained unbeaten 45* to edge past his team to victory with as many as 8 batsmen back in the pavilion. Tamil Nadu were kept in the game thanks to Vignesh K’ 4-for and Aswin Crist’s 4-for. Mumbai skippered by Aditya Tare won the toss and elected to field first was not disappointed by their bowlers after they bundled Tamil Nadu for just 87 runs on Day 1. Baba Aparajith was the highest run-scorer for Tamil Nadu with 28. Dhawal Kulkarni and Tushar Deshpande were the pick of the bowlers for Mumbai picking 2 wickets apiece. Read More about Ranji Trophy 2016-17

In reply, Mumbai managed 176 runs with Tare being the top scorer with 48 runs followed by Kaustubh Pawar who made 35 runs. For Tamil Nadu Vignesh K picked up five wickets for 41 runs. With a deficit of 89-run put up a great fight with the bat in the second innings. Washington Sundar made 40 in 113 balls, and captain Abhinav Mukund 56 in 113 balls added 107 for the opening stand to help Tamil Nadu reach 185, setting Mumbai 97 runs to win. Kulkarni again stared with the ball for Mumbai, he followed his 4-for with a 6-for second time around. Vijay Gohil also contributed picking up 3 wickets.

Brief scores:

Tamil Nadu 87 and 185 (Washington Sundar 40, Abhinav Mukund 56; Vijay Gohil 3 for 36) lost to Mumbai 176 and 97 for 8 ( Abhishek Nayar 45* , BS Sandhu 12; Vignesh K 4 for 29 ) by 2-wickets.