Chattisgarh were the only new team in this season of Ranji Trophy    Getty Images
Chattisgarh were the only new team in this season of Ranji Trophy Getty Images

Haryana were found helpless as they were bundled out for 178 after winning toss and electing to bat on Day 1 of Round 3 of Ranji Trophy 2016-17. Haryana s top five batsmen were dismissed for single digits leaving no scope for building the impetus in the beginning. SG Rohilla, who has always top scored for Haryana in every game, was gone for mere 17 runs while his opening partner Nitin Saini was gone for single digit. But it was RP Sharma who was the only highest scorer for the side and got 45 wickets on hand. H Patel also added some 34 runs to make the score competitive against Chattisgarh. READ: Ranji Trophy 2016-17 Points Table & team standings

Chattisgarh are already leading the points table while Haryana are in search of a victory in this tournament. AJ Mandal provided tough fight to Haryana and bagged four wickets along with Abhishek Tamrakar who got two wickets as well to dismantle Haryana. Chattisgarh began their first innings right away and their opening batsmen Rishabh Tiwari along with S Gupta have provided the perfect start to the innings.

However, Rishabh was dismissed for 30, Gupta is still playing at 25 and Ashuthose Singh has entered at No. 3 playing on 8. Patel is the only one who has got a wicket so far. Haryana still have bowlers like Mohit Sharma and Yuazvendra Chahal who can pick wickets instantly and thwart the opposition. Chahal had picked sic wickets while Mohit has also got a fifer in this tournament.

Brief Scores:

Haryana 178 (RP Sharma 45, HV Patel 34; AJ Mandal 4 for 26) trail Chattisgarh 68 for 1 (HV Patel 1 for 22) by 110 runs