Karnataka lead by 257 runs agaisnt Vidarbha    Getty Images
Karnataka lead by 257 runs agaisnt Vidarbha Getty Images

Karnataka score 267 on Day One as they face Vidarbha in Round 5 of the Ranji Trophy 2016-17. The match is being played at the Motibaug Cricket Ground, Vadodara. Vidarbha won the toss and sent Karnataka to bat first. Samarth R and Mayank Agarwal opened the innings but failed to provide the team a good start. Agarwal departed for 2 while Samarth soon followed him for 12 runs. It was Robin Uthappa who brought in stability to the Karnataka innings. He built up a brief partnership with Manish Pandey. Uthappa missed on his half-century for just four runs while Pandey scored 20. READ: Ranji Trophy 2016-17 Points Table & team standings

The Karnataka middle-order failed to put in any mentionable contribution but the lower-middle-order filled in for that. Senior player Stuart Binny got out scoring 11, skipper Chidambaram Gautam departed for a duck while Shreyas Gopal scored a solitary run. Vinay Kumar and Abrar Kazi built up a brief partnership. Vinay added 39 runs to the scoreboard while Kazi’s contribution was a crucial 21. The highest run-getter of the innings was Krishnappa Gowtham, who went out to bat at No. 10 and scored 60 runs and remained unbeaten. He got support from Sreenath Arvind from the other end, who scored 26.

Among the bowlers, Vidarbha’s Lalit Yadav was the most successful with a 5-wicket-haul. Ravikumar Thakur bagged 3 wickets.

In reply, SR Ramaswamy and Faiz Fazal opened Vidarbha’s innings and remained unbeaten as Vidarbha put up 10 runs at stumps.

Brief scores:

Karnataka 267 ( Robin Uthappa 46, Vinay Kumar 39, Krishnappa Gowtham 60*; Lalit Yadav 5 for 67, Ravikumar Thakur 3 for 54) lead by 257 runs against Vidarbha 10 for 0 (SR Ramaswamy 9*, Faiz Fazal 1*; Sreenath Arvind 0 for 0)