KL Rhaul scored 76 runs while Mayank Agarwal contributed with 81 runs    Getty Images
KL Rhaul scored 76 runs while Mayank Agarwal contributed with 81 runs Getty Images

Karnataka put up a huge 345 on Day One as KL Rahul and Mayank Agarwal helped the team with handsome contributions in Round 6 of Ranji Trophy 2016-17. The match is being played at the Dr P.V.G. Raju ACA Sports Complex, Vizianagaram. Karnataka were off to a great start, thanks to openers Rahul and Ravikumar Samarth. Though they lost experienced Robin Uthappa for 6 runs, Mayank Agarwal backed up for it adding 81 runs to the scorecard. The team has a long batting line-up and has Shreyas Gopal and Vinay Kumar at the crease to bat on Day Two. FULL CRICKET SCORES AND UPDATES: Ranji Trophy 2016-17, Day 1, Round 6

India’s new batting sensation KL Rahul annnounced his comeback from injury in style as he smashed 76 off only 85 balls as Karnataka scored 345 for six against Rajasthan in a group B Ranji Trophy encounter. With veteran Gautam Gambhir looking horribly out of sync with his flawed technique against seam bowling, the Indian team management is desperate to get Rahul back in the fold as he was playing brilliantly before a hamstring injury during the Kanpur Test against New Zealand. With Anil Kumble setting a protocol that one Ranji Trophy match being must to test the match fitness, Rahul passed the batting test in flying colours as he hit 15 fours and a six in his 85 balls. He scored 66 runs in boundaries in 16 scoring strokes.

He was severe on both Pankaj Singh and Deepak Chahar hitting some flowing drives off both front and backfoot. Rahul was finally out nicking one off left-arm seamer Tanvir Mantesar ul Haq to Chetan Bist. Rahul and opener Ravikumar Samarth (62) added 111 runs in 24.3 overs. It was for Rahul that Mayank Agarwal batted at No 4 as the selectors need to keep a tab on his fitness more than the runs that he would be scoring. Agarwal, who otherwise opens, came in at No 4 to score 81 off 127 balls with 12 boundaries. Stuart Binny (37) and CM Gautham (35) were set before getting dismissed, reported PTI.

Brief scores:

Karnataka 345 for 6 (Ravikumar Samarth 62, KL Rahul 76, Mayank Agarwal 81; Pankaj Singh 1 for 75, Tanvir Mashart Ul-Haq 3 for 64) vs Rajasthan