Surya Kumar Yadav scored 99 against Uttar Pradesh in Round 6    AFP
Surya Kumar Yadav scored 99 against Uttar Pradesh in Round 6 AFP

The table toppers of Group A, Mumbai, were seen stuttering as they were bundled out 233 with Surya Kumar Yadav once again reining with the highest score of 99 against Uttar Pradesh in Round 6 of Ranji Trophy 2016-17. Uttar Pradesh began their first innings and went steady after the loss of their first wicket. Uttar Pradesh ended their day s play at 22 for 1 with Samarth Singh and Saurabh Kumar playing at 8 and 5 respectively. Tushar Deshpande was once again at his best as he picked a wicket to keep Uttar Pradesh on back foot. Mumbai, who have kept their best foot forward, will look to bundle out Uttar Pradesh soon on Day 2. FULL CRICKET UPDATE: Ran ji Trophy 2016-17, Round 6, Day One

The Day One started with Mumbai winning the toss and electing to bat first. Their opening pair Kaustubh Pawar and Akil Herwadkar provided steady start of 12 runs; however, Ankit Rajpoot of Uttar Pradesh drew the first blood by the 6th over. Shreyas Iyer and Herwadkar stitched 30 runs for second wicket. Herwadkar also found his way back with Imtiaz Ahmed grabbing his first. Shreyas also could not stay longer on the field to produce healthy partnership but pushed Mumbai to the 50-run mark by the 16th over.

Mumbai bounced back into the game when Surya Kumar and Aditya Tare built healthy partnership of 59 runs for the fourth wicket, despite the third wicket down in form of Shreyas. After the fall of Aditya, Surya Kumar continued his spree with runs and built yet another strong partnership with Siddesh Lad and Aditya Dhumal. For Uttar Pradesh, the star was late entrant Kuldeep Yadav and Saurabh Kumar sharing seven wickets to bowl out Mumbai. Rajpoot and Ahmed bagged apiece as well.

Uttar Pradesh are lying at second last position in Group A table, will be itching to better their position with a victory against Mumbai. The latter will hope to lock the top slot for themselves.

Brief Scores:

Mumbai 233 (Shreyas Iyer 35, Surya Kumar Yadav 99, Aditya Tare 30, Aditya Dhumal 34; Saurabh Kumar 3 for 53, Kuldeep Yadav 4 for 46) lead Uttar Pradesh 22 for 1 (Samarth Singh 8*, Saurabh Kumar 5*; Tushar Deshpande 1 for 8) by 211 runs