Getty Images (Representation Image)
Getty Images (Representation Image)

Haryana have taken first-innings lead against Hyderabad on Day Two of the Group C match at the Keenan Stadium in Jamshedpur. After Hyderabad won the toss and opted to bat, Haryana bowlers led by Team India leg-spinner Yuzvendra Chahal, bundled them out for 191. B Sandeep top-scored with 44 while their new skipper and an import from Vidarbha, actually Tamil Nadu, S Badrinath scored 27. The Hyderabad batsmen had simply no answer to Chahal s guile as the lanky leggie finished with the figures of 6 for 44. In reply, Haryana ended the Day Two at a score of 4 for 236, with their openers giving a solid start and laying a platform for a decent total.

Nitin Saini scored 61, while SG Rohilla scored 60, as the duo added 126 for the first wicket. Mehdi Hasan and Mohammad Siraj then sent back the openers in quick succession. Himanshu Rana (22) and Rajat Paliwal (18) could not do much but CK Bishnoi remained unbeaten on 47 at stumps. With six more wickets in hand, Haryana look set to extend their lead of 45 runs on Day Three.

Nitin Saini (61) and Shubham Rohilla (60) blasted twin half centuries to power Haryana to 236 for 4 against Hyderabad on the second day of their Ranji Trophy Group C match at Keenan Stadium here today. Riding on a superlative batting display by its top-order, Haryana grabbed a lead of 45 runs with six wickets still remaining in their first innings. At the draw of stumps, Chaitanya Bishnoi (47) and Rohit Sharma (7) were at the crease.

In reply to Hyderabad’s first innings total of 191, Haryana produced a superb 126-run opening partnership to lay the foundation for a big score. Saini hit six boundaries in his 158-ball innings, while Rohilla blasted 10 fours in his 130-ball stay. Mohammed Siraj broke the partnership in the 44th over when he trapped Rohilla for an LBW and then in the 55th over Hassan had cleaned up Saini as Haryana were reduced to 138-2.

Himanshu Rana (22) and Bishnoi then added 35 runs before the former was dismissed by Hassan. Rajat Paliwal (18) and Bishnoi then took Haryana across the 200-mark before the former was removed by Siraj.

Brief scores:

Hyderabad 191 (B Sandeep 44, S Badrinath 27; Yuzvendra Chahal 6 for 44) against Haryana 236 for 4 (Nitin Saini 61, SG Rohilla 60; Mohammad Siraj 2 for 37, Mehdi Hasan 2 for 61)