Getty Images (Representation Image)
Getty Images (Representation Image)

Manish Tiwary cracked a superb century as Bengal posted 466 in their first innings and then reduced Uttar Pradesh to 126-3 on day two of their Ranji Trophy Group A match here today in the Round 2 of the Ranji Trophy 2016-17. Starting at an individual overnight score of 1, Tiwary produced 15 boundaries in his 150-ball innings and was the last man to be dismissed as he batted with the lower-order batsmen to take Bengal across the 450-mark. Abhimanyu Easwaran and Tiwary started the proceedings at Bengal’s overnight first innings score of 288 for 3 and added another 50 runs before the opener was dismissed by Imtiaz Ahmed at the Sawai Mansingh Stadium. Easwaran’s 285-ball 142-run innings was studded with 21 hits to the fence.

Tiwary then took the onus on himself and kept the scoreboard ticking even as wickets kept tumbling at the other end with Pankaj Shaw who scored 20 and Aamir Gani who scored 12 being the only batsmen to reach double scores. For UP, Kuldeep Yadav was the star performer with the ball as he ended with the figures of 5 for 115) completed a five-wicket haul, while AS Rajpoot complimented Yadav well as he scalped 4 for 119.

In reply, Uttar Pradesh found themselves tottering at 49-3 with Ashok Dinda removing Tanmay Srivastava for just 2 runs and Samarth Singh at an individual score of 13 cheaply after which Sayan Ghosh dismissed Almas Shaukat for just a single.

However, Umang Sharma who made 57 along with Sarfaraz Khan who made 43 stopped the slide with a 77-run unbeaten partnership and remained at the crease when the stumps were drawn.

Brief Score:

Bengal 466 for 10 (Abhimanyu Easwaran 142, Manish Tiwary 110; Kuldeep Yadav 5 for 115) vs Uttar Pradesh 126 for 3 in 35 overs (Umang Sharma 57*, SarfarazKhan 42*; AB Dinda 2 for 27).