The tie was evenly contested resulting in a fair draw    Getty Images (Representational Image)
The tie was evenly contested resulting in a fair draw Getty Images (Representational Image)

In what seemed like an evenly contested contest between Uttar Pradesh and Bengal, the match ended in a draw as both the sides displayed some gritty batting in all the innings in the Round 2 of the Ranji trophy 2016-17. Bengal had set a target of 331 for Uttar Pradesh after Abhimanyu Easwaran once again scored a century in the second innings as he remained not out on 110* and Shreevats Goswami also came in with his century as he scored 100. The day began with UP s batting with their number four and five batsmen at the crease and ended with Bengal s batting with their openers being unbeaten. UP began the day three at the score of 126 for three with Umang Sharma at 57 and Sarfaraz Khan at 43. READ:Ranji Trophy 2016-17 Points Table & team standings

Both added 62-run more to their partnership before Sarfaraz got out after scoring 85. After that, Eklavya Dwivedi, who was new to the crease lost his wicket too. Further, Umang completed his second First-Class ton and added 67 crucial runs for the sixth wicket with Piyush Chawla. Chawla played a quick 34-run knock in that partnership before getting out to Aamir Gani. Later, Umang had to walk back to the pavilion as he was out for 136 but in between Kuldeep Yadav played a handy knock of 63-run which proved to be bonus runs for UP.

In the end, UP were bowled out for 410 and conceded the lead of 56 runs to Bengal. From bowling, spinner Pragyan Ojha Gani scalped five wickets together, while Sayan Ghosh and Sayan Mondal got one wicket each on day three. After getting the lead of 56-runs, Bengal got to bat only 11 overs, in which both their remained unbeaten after scoring 30 runs on board.

Brief Scores:

Bengal 466 and 274 for 6 (Abhimanyu Easwaran 110*, Shreevats Goswami 100; Kuldeep Yadav 4 for 110) drew against Uttar Pradesh 410 and 70 for no loss (Tanmay Srivastava 31*, Almas Shaukat 30*; Ashok Dinda 0 for 10)