Bhargav Bhatt was the highest wicket-taker in this match    Getty Images (File Photo)
Bhargav Bhatt was the highest wicket-taker in this match and was rewarded Man of the Match Getty Images (File Photo)

Andhra were in commanding position through the match and found winning ways against Jammu and Kashmir in Round 3 of Ranji Trophy 2016-17. Andhra were set target of 194 by Jammu and Kashmir, who chased it with ease and earned six points in Group C. Andhra have won their first match in this tournament so far while Jammu and Kashmir faced defeat for the first time. Andhra bowlers have kept Jammu and Kashmir on toes, some gaining fifers while some others gaining four-wicket haul. In the second innings of Jammu and Kashmir, Bhargav Bhatt got a fifer while Vijay Kumar bagged three wickets to bowl them out for 111. LIVE Cricket Score Ranji Trophy 2016-17, Day 4, Round 3

Andhra won the toss and elected to field first. Jammu and Kashmir started off well and put up a stunning 334 on board. Shubham Khajuria got 90 and missed his century by 10 runs. The next highest scorer was Bandeep Singh who scored 63 to keep them ahead in the match. Siva Kumar and Bhatt tried all they could to rattle Jammu and Kashmir as they bagged four wickets each; however, the former found ways to build runs on board. Andhra tried all they could to go past the 300-run mark with the help of Ravi Teja s half-century. But Jammu and Kashmir came out stronger, bowling them out for 255. Aamir Aziz earned his fifer in the process and Rasool got three wickets.

Teja was once again at the top in the second innings of Andhra with his half-century while AG Pradeep and Ashwin Hebbar added 30-odd runs to bring some momentum and win the match against Jammu and Kashmir.

Brief Scores:

Jammu and Kashmir 334 (Shubham Khajuria 90, Parvez Rasool 45, Bandeep Singh 63; Siva Kumar 4 for 49, Bhargav Bhatt 4 for 122) & 111 (Shubham Khajuria 49; Bhargav Bhatt 5 for 60) lost to Andhra 255 (Ravi Teja 81, AG Pradeep 47; Aamir Aziz 5 for 62, Parvez Rasool 3 for 40) & 194 (Ravi Teja 50, Ashwin Hebbar 27; Parvez Rasool 4 for 55) by 4 wickets