The match ended in a draw but Maharashtra will get 3 points for 1st innings lead    Getty Images
The match ended in a draw but Maharashtra will get 3 points for 1st innings lead Getty Images

The Ranji Trophy 2016-17, Round 4 match between Maharashtra and Rajasthan ended in a draw. Playing at Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium, Hyderabad, Maharashtra won the toss and elected to bat first. Though they lost two wickets soon after the start of their innings, NR Shaikh and Ankit Bawne built up the most crucial partnership for the team. Bawne scored 83 while Shaikh went on to score 143. Rahul Tripathi’s knock of 93 runs was also a big contribution towards the team total. Another crucial knock was played by Vishant More down the order as he added 62 runs to take the score to 461 runs. LIVE SCORE UPDATES: Ranji Trophy 2016-17, Round 4, Day 4

Chasing the runs, Rajasthan’s entire batting line-up contributed but the effort was not up to the mark. Maharashtra pocketed three points by virtue of the first innings lead after their Ranji Trophy Group B match against Rajasthan ended in a draw at the Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium. Twelve wickets fall on the fourth and final day of the match as Rajasthan lost their remaining two wickets to end their first innings at 330 in 123.4 overs, handing a crucial 131-run first innings lead to Maharashtra.

However, Rajasthan came back to bundle out Maharashtra for a paltry 145 in 60.4 overs in their second innings. They then batted for six over, scoring 4-0 in their second innings at stumps. Earlier resuming their first innings at an overnight score of 299/8, Rajasthan lost No. 9 Pankaj Singh (9) and No. 10 Nathu Singh (4) cheaply within 5 overs to end their innings. Overnight batsman Chetan Bist (59) was left stranded at the other end. Rajasthan then dished out a disciplined bowling effort with Nathu Singh (3/32) emerging as the highest wicket-taker and Pankaj and Tanvir Ul-Haq (2/4) claiming two wickets each. A Choudhary (1/42) and Mahipal Lomror (1/9) accounted for one wicket each. No. 6 batsman Chirag Khurana (36) was the highest scorer in Maharashtra’s second innings, reported PTI.

Brief Scores:

Maharashtra 461 and 145 (CG Khurana 36, Akshay Darekar 22; Nathu Singh 3 for 32) drew with Rajasthan 330 and 4 for 0 (Vineet Saxena 4; AA Sanklecha 0 for 0)