Assam win their first match in Ranji Trophy 2016-17    Getty Images (File Photo)
Assam win their first match in Ranji Trophy 2016-17 Getty Images (File Photo)

Chasing target of 65, Assam eased to victory by 9 wickets against Saurasthra in Round 5 of Ranji Trophy 2016-17. Rishav Das and Sibsankar Roy s combined efforts helped Assam to chase an easy target by 16 overs. Jaydev Unadkat was the only bowler to get a wicket for Saurashtra, despite Assam s victory. Rahul Hazarika was dismissed by the 11th over for eight runs. Saurasthra who started their day at 0 for loss of a wicket on Day Four, were bundled out for 81 with the next opening batsman Sagar Jogiyani being grabbed for the eighth over. Amitoze Singh was the only highest run-scorer for the side with his valuable 30 runs while Sheldon Jackson was gone for 13 runs. Full Cricket Updates Ranji Trophy 2016-17, Day 4, Round 5

After Jackson s wicket, the36th over saw consecutive fall of wickets, while 29 to 39th over saw the collapse of the Saurashtra team, helping Assam take the lead in the game already. Arup Das was on a roll as he grabbed two wickets in the last over of the Saurashtra innings. Similar was the story for Krishna Das who got two wickets in the same over Jaydev Shah and Chirag Jani. By the 40th over, Saurashtra were bundled out with ease and Assam sniffed victory.

Earlier, Arup was at the top with seven-wicket haul as they bundled out Saurashtra early on. But it was equally a tough time for Assam as they ended their play at 171 at the end of Day Three. Arun Karthik was the top-scorer for the side with a fifty to his name while Amit Verma added 28 runs to the scoreboard. But Unadkat equally gave his best as he took six wickets to bowl out Assam during their first innings. On Day Two, After the first day s proceedings was abandoned due to rain, second day began at 12.40 pm because of wet outfield and Assam, opting to bowl, straightway got into action with Arup putting up a fine display of seam bowling in his captivating spell.

Brief Scores:

Saurashtra 153 (Jaydev Unadkat 46, Shaurya Sanandia 25; Arup Das 7 for 49) & 171 (Sagar Amitoze Singh 30, Sheldon Jackson 13; Arup Das 5 for 21, Krishna Das 4 for 27) lost to Assam 171 (Amit Verma 28, Arun Karthik 57; Jaydev Unadkat 6 for 48) & 66/1 (Rishav Das 30*, Sibsankar Roy 24*; Jaydev Unadkat 1 for 28) by 9 wickets