Getty Images (Representational Image)
Haryana and Kerala drew their Group C game Getty Images (Representational Image)

Haryana batsmen made merry as Nitin Saini and Rajat Paliwal knocked off personal milestones against Kerala. Haryana and Kerala clashed in their Group C tie Sawai Mansingh Stadium in Jaipur in Round 5 of the Ranji Trophy 2016-17 edition. Kerala on account of first innings lead were awarded 3 points while Haryana added just a solitary gain in their points tally after the match ended in a draw on Day Four. Haryana started the day on 6 for 0 were 315 for 3 when both teams decided to call of the game. Saini remained unbeaten on 152*, along side Hooda who was not-out on 50. Full Cricket Updates Ranji Trophy 2016-17, Day 4, Round 5

Saini lead the charge from the front for Haryana making a 207-ball 111 which included 15 boundaires. Jalal Saxena provided some excitement picking up the wickets of Shubham Rohilla and Chaitanya Bishnoi in a span of four over to make the game more interesting. Paliwal supported Saini as the pair added 145 runs for the third wicket. Paliwal went on to make a 133-ball 75 before he was leg-before by Iqbal Abdulla. Mohit Hooda came out to bat at No.5 and took the attack to the bowlers. Hooda along with Saini added 100 for the fourth wicket, Hooda achieved his second half-century in First-Class cricket, Saini continues his marathon innings, recording his 11th FC ton.

Earlier, half-centuries from Rohit Sharma and Sanjay Pahal helped Haryana reach 303 run in their first innings. Rohit, who made a 196-ball 92, while Pahal made 54 off 148 balls finally getting cleaned by Jalal Saxena. Sandeep Warrier with five, Vinod Kumar and Jalaj Saxena with three and two wickets respectively ensured that Haryana do not get a huge score on the board. Kerala on Day Three from 203 for 1, Kerala collapsed to 266 for 5, but fine fifties from Sachin Baby and Iqbal Abdulla, got Kerala back into the game. Harshal Patel and leg-spinner Yuzvendra Chahal were the pick of the bowlers for Haryana, finishing with four wickets apiece.

Brief Scores:

Haryana 303 (Rohit Sharma 92, Sanjay Pahal 54; Sandeep Warrier 5 for 79) & 315 for 3 (Nitin Saini 152*, Rajat Paliwal 75; Jalaj Saxena 2 for 52) drew against Kerala 404 for 9 decl. (Bhavin Thakkar 79, Rohan Prem 64; Harshal Patel 4 for 6, Yuzvendra Chahal 4 for 119).