Mumbai now gain 19 points in Group A while Railways stay at bottom of the table    Getty Images (File Photo)
Mumbai now gain 19 points in Group A while Railways stay at bottom of the table Getty Images (File Photo)

Mumbai cruised to yet another comfortable 10-wicket win against Railways in Round 5 of Ranji Trophy 2016-17, Group A match at Mysore. On Day Four, Deshpande grabbed three crucial wickets of Faiz Ahmed, Ashish Yadav and DN Bansal apart from the two wickets he grabbed on Day Three. Shardul Thakur, Vijay Gohil and Balwinder Sandhu picked apiece to dismiss Railways for 208, after they resumed their second innings at 135 for 4. Mumbai were provided target of 24 that Akhil Herwadkar and Shreyas Iyer secured 18 and 6 runs respectively in just 5 overs to ease to victory. Full Cricket Updates Ranji Trophy 2016-17, Day 4, Round 5

Earlier, Railways lost the wicket of Nitin Bhille in the 67th over by Thakur. In the 81st over, Faiz Ahmed too was back in the hut when he was caught by Suryakumar Yadav as Railways slipped to 170-6. In the next five overs, Karn Sharma removed off Sandhu while the next over saw Ashish Yadav also being dismissed by Kaustubh Pawar. Amit Mishra and Deepak Bansal were gone cheaply, after Railways successfully crossed the 200-run mark.

Railways were earlier bundled for 160 in their first innings with Thakur shining with fifer then. Karn was the only highest run-scorer for the side then and helping him around was Ashish. Mumbai were at the top right since Day One, as they ended their first innings at 345 with Suryakumar Yadav putting up century that came of 11 fours and a six. He was the saviour for Mumbai as their top three batsmen brought Mumbai to 76 for three in mere 45 overs.

Mumbai now are at the top of the table with 19 points while Railways continue to slog at the bottom of the table with 3 points.

Brief scores:

Mumbai 345 (Akhil Herwadkar 96, Shreyas Iyer 70, Suryakumar Yadav 110; Karn Sharma 5 for 81, Karn Sharma 2 for 69) & 24/0 (Akhil Herwadkar 18*, Shreyas Iyer 6*; Karn Sharma 0 for 6) beat Railways 160 (Ashish Singh 22, Karn Sharma 24; Vijay Gohil 5 for 64, Balwinder Sandhu 2 for 23) & 208 (Saurabh 39, Arindam Ghosh 31, Faiz Ahmad 28; Vijay Gohil 2 for 60, Tushar Deshpande 5 for 35) by 10 wickets