Abhishek Nayar scored 110 and three wickets on Day 1 and 2 against Hyderabad    AFP
Abhishek Nayar scored 110 and three wickets on Day 1 and 2 against Hyderabad AFP

After bundling out Mumbai for 294, Hyderabad were found stuttering at 166 for 3 on Day Two of the quarter-final of Ranji Trophy 2016-17 at Raipur. Abhishek Nayar took three early wickets to end the day in Mumbai s favour, with Hyderabad trailing by 128 runs and 7 wickets to spare. Responding to Mumbai s 294, Hyderabad were off to a decent start with opening batsmen Tanmay Agarwal and Akshath Reddy adding 26 runs on board. Nayar found his first target and grabbed Reddy for 13. The second partnership lasted just for 4 runs as Balchander Anirudh was gone in quick succession.

ALSO READ: Ranji Trophy 2016-17, Quarter-Finals: Lower order rescues Mumbai after poor start against Hyderabad

Hyderabad were provided solidity after the early blows with Agarwal and S Badrinath adding 100-run partnership for the third wicket. Badrinath also got to his half-century off 97 deliveries after lunch. Meanwhile, Agarwal who began the proceedings got to his half-century towards the end of the day. But before Agarwal could get to his landmark, Mumbai got their third wicket with the big gun Badrinath for 56. Hyderabad are once again back to square one as the day s play ended with Agarwal to continue on 63 and Bavanaka Sandeep on 10, on Day Three.

Earlier in the day, Siddesh Lad, who got to his century on Day One, ended his innings for 110 with Hyderabad s Ravi Kiran bagging his first wicket. Nayar continued to lead the charge and added 13 runs to his overnight score of 46. However, once Nayar was dismissed for 59 by Chama Milind, Mumbai witnessed lower-order collapse in succession. Hyderabad found their bowlers on top as Mohammed Siraj and Milind shared 9 wickets to end the Mumbai innings below the 300-run mark.

Brief scores:

Mumbai 294 (Aditya Tare 73, Siddesh Lad 110, Abhishek Nayar 59; Chama Milind 5 for 80, Mohammed Siraj 4 for 64) lead Hyderabad 166 for 3 (Tanmay Agarwal 63*, S Badrinath 56, Bavanaka Sandeep 10*; Abhishek Nayar 3 for 26) by 128 runs