Ankit Bawne scored 111 in Maharashtra's first innings. File Photo, CricketCountry archive.
Ankit Bawne scored 111 in Maharashtra’s first innings. File Photo, CricketCountry archive.

Half centuries by openers, captain Faiz Fazal and Sanjay Ramaswamy have kept Vidarbha s hopes of making a match out of their Group B Ranji Trophy encounter against Maharashtra alive. At the end of Day Two of the round 6 match, Vidarbha were placed at 1 for 141 in their second innings, thus trailing Maharashtra by 132 more runs. Skipper Fazal, who earlier this year won his India cap against Zimbabwe, was unbeaten on 53 at the close of play. Giving him company was Ganesh Satish, who is yet to open hi account. Ramaswamy was dismissed after scoring 67 and adding 141 for the first wicket with the captain. FULL CRICKET SCORES AND UPDATES: Ranji Trophy 2016-17, Day 1, Round 6.

Earlier, Maharashtra started Day Two from their overnight score of 3 for 240 after bundling out Vidarbha for a paltry 59 in the first innings. Naushad Shaikh (127) and Ankit Bawne (111) were the twin centurions for them in the match. Riding on their effort, the Kedar Jadhav-led side posted 332 in their first innings, thus taking a lead of 273 runs in the first innings. For Vidarbha, pacers Lalit (five-for) and Shrikant Wagh (4 wickets) were the chief destructors. Barring Shaikh and Bawne, no other batsman made any significant contribution. Skipper Jadhav scored 29-ball 30.

On Day 1, off-spinner Anupam Sanklecha wrecked havoc on the hapless Vidarbha batsmen as he picked up 7 for 25 to bundle them out for 59. He backed his effort with the solitary wicket to fall in the second innings thus far. His effort has put his side in the driver s seat in the game.

Brief scores:

Vidarbha 141 for 1 (Sanjay Ramaswamy 67, Faiz Fazal 53 not out; Anupam Sanklecha 1 for 35) and 59 (Shalabh Shrivastava 19; Anupam Sanklecha 7 for 25) trail Maharashtra 332 (Naushad Shaikh 127, Ankit Bawne 111; Lalit 5 for 81, Shrikant Wagh 4 for 82) by 132 runs.