Sumit Narwal finished with the figures of 4 for 38 vs Vidarbha    Getty Images (Representational Image)
Sumit Narwal finished with the figures of 4 for 38 vs Vidarbha Getty Images (Representational Image)

Delhi have reached a total of 12 runs for the loss of 1 wicket as they trail Vidarbha by 171 runs with 9 wickets in hand, at stumps on Day One of the Ranji Trophy 2016-17 Round 8. The match is being played at the Sri Sivasubramaniya Nadar College of Engineering Ground, Chennai. Riding on impressive bowling performances from Sumit Narwal who took 4 for 38 and Navdeep Saini, who took 3 wickets for 30 runs, Delhi bowled out Vidarbha for a paltry total of 183. In reply to Vidarbha s total, Delhi lost their opener Shikhar Dhawan for just 6 runs and have skipper Gautam Gambhir (2) and Pradeep Sangwan (4) at the crease. Rajneesh Gurbani took the only wicket for Vidarbha. Ranji Trophy 2016-17 Points Table & team standings

Opting to bowl first, Delhi bowlers brought in success quickly as they got rid of both Vidarbha openers, Sanjay Ramaswamy (4 off 28 balls) and Faiz Fazal (1 of 14 balls), and No. 3 batsman Ganesh Sathish (13 off 24) reducing the Vidarbha innings to 20 runs for the loss of 3 wickets.

After this initial debacle, there was a healthy partnership of 61 runs for the fourth wicket between Siddhesh Wath and Shalabh Shrivastava. It was Wath s wicket that saw the end of this partnership. Wath went on a personal score of 23 runs off 54 deliveries. Akshay Karnewar (0) and Azhar Sheikh (4) were sent back to the dugout quickly leaving the Vidarbha innings tumbling at 99 for 6.

Shrikant Wagh played a good knock along with Shrivastava as they went on to put 34 runs partnership for the 7th wicket. The later departed for after hitting a half-century (62 runs from 93 balls).

This also saw the end of the Vidarbha innings as none of the later batsmen could score any runs. Wagh remained unbeaten on 46 from 96 balls as the Vidarbha innings ended on 183. Apart from Narwal and Saini, Pradeep Sangwan has taken 2 wickets while Manan Sharma has taken 1.

Brief scores:

Vidarbha 183 (Shalabh Shrivastava 62, Shrikant Wagh 46*; Sumit Narwal 4 for 38) lead Delhi 12 for 1 (Shikhar Dhawan 6, Pradeep Sangwan 4*; Rajneesh Gurbani 1 for 11) by 171 runs