Getty Images (Representational Image)
Vinay Kumar stared with the ball for Karnataka Getty Images (Representational Image)

Round 8 tie between Karnataka and Saurashtra saw the former team gain upper hand by the end of Day One. After getting all-out for 200, Karnataka bowlers hampered Saurashtra’s chances of comeback. R Vinay Kumar struck just moments before the stumps to put Saurashtra on the back foot. Snell Patel and Sheldon Jackson were in the middle when bad light ensured that play ended early. Saurashtra, going into stumps, were trailing Karnataka by 181 runs, with Patel and Jackson unbeaten on 10 and 9 respectively. Ranji Trophy 2016-17, Round 8 Day 1 report and highlights: Wickets tumble in AND-GOA clash

Kishan Parmar was dismissed off the very first ball. Saurashtra were jolted again, as Kumar struck in his second over, removing Samarth Vyas for zero. Meanwhile, Patel and Jackson calmed nerves for their side adding 15 runs in the process. Earlier in the day, Karnataka won the toss and opted to bat first. Openers Ravikumar Samarth and Mayank Agarwal could not add much to the team’s score. Kamlesh Makvana dismissed Agarwal for 15. Coming into bat at No. 3, Robin Uthappa could not do much, as he became Jay Chauhan’s first scalp.

Makvana also got the wicket of Samarth for 17. Manish Pandey, coming in at No. 4, was the lone ranger for his side with his fellow teammates falling like nine pins. Kaunain Abbas got out cheaply for 5 ,after Vandit Jivrajani got him leg-before.

Stuart Binny continued his bad form with the bat, making just 16 runs. Chauhan got Binny caught by Jaydev Shah to hand him his second wicket. Chidhambaram Gautam added just one run before he became Jivrajani’s second wicket. Between all this, Pandey continued his good show and achieved a valiant half-century.

Jivrajani got his third victim in the form of Abrar Kazi for 8. Shreyas Gopal constructed a partnership of 54 runs along with Pandey. Jaydev Unadkat struck gold, as he got the wicket of Pandey for 75 runs.

R Vinay Kumar departed for a 8-ball 0, which meant Karnataka were bundled out for 200 runs. Jivrajani and Chauhan stared off well, picking up 3 wickets apiece. Unadkat and Makwana picked 2 wickets as well.

Brief scores:

Karnataka 200 all-out (Manish Pandey 75, Shreyas Gopal 38; Vandit Jivarjani 3 for 41) lead Saurashtra 19 for 2 (Snell S Patel 10* Sheldon Jackson 9* ; Vinay Kumar 2 for 1 ) by 181 runs.