Bengal’s shabby performance with the willow continued in Round 8 of Ranji Trophy 2016-17 Getty Images

Mumbai lead by 65 runs with 5 wickets remaining in the first innings against Bengal, in Round 8 encounter of Ranji Trophy 2016-17. After winning the toss, Mumbai captain Aditya Tare invited Bengal to bat at Vidarbha Cricket Association (VCA) Ground, Nagpur. Given the track appeared bowler-friendly, the decision paid off, for Mumbai dismantled Bengal for 99, thanks to Shardul Thakur’s 6 for 31. As a matter of fact, the right-arm pacer ran through Bengal’s top order, denting their spirit with some fierce fast-bowling. For Bengal, Sudip Chatterjee top-scored with 35; a knock which included 6 boundaries. READ: Karnataka in control; attain 181-run lead over Saurashtra

Bengal, however, were stuttering at 90 for 4 after Manoj Tiwary’s wicket. What followed will be etched in Bengal fans’ minds forever, as they lost next 6 wickets in a matter of 9 runs, as Dhawal Kulkarni went all guns blazing and cleaned up the tail. Meanwhile, all-rounder Abhishek Nayar scalped an important wicket of Sayan Mondal. In reply, Mumbai scored 164 for 5 at the end of Day One. Nonetheless, Mumbai openers started off well, adding 58. Kaustubh Pawar scored a resolute 78 off 112, studded with 12 delightful boundaries and 2 staggering sixes.

Jay Bista, on the other hand, churned out 26 from as many balls, inclusive of 5 boundaries. Meanwhile, Shreyas Iyer, star of the last season, added 28 to Mumbai’s total.

For Bengal, Mukesh Kumar and Amit Kuila picked up 2 wickets each.

Brief scores:

Bengal 99 (Sudip Chatterjee 35, Abhishek Raman 21; Shardul Thakur 6 for 31) vs Mumbai 164 for 5 (Kaustubh Pawar 78, Shreyas Iyer 28; Mukesh Kumar 2 for 44, Amit Kuila 2 for 44)