Getty Images (Representational Image)
Kerala trail Tripura by 202 runs Getty Images (Representational Image)

Group C tie between Kerala versus Tripura saw the latter bundled out for 213. Tripura won the toss and lost the initiative in their round 8 game of Ranji Trophy 2016-17 at Barabati Stadium in Cuttack. Sandeep Warrier and Jalaj Saxena opened the bowling for Tripura. On the other hand, Yashpal Sharma and Rana Dutta provided good start for the batting side. Warrier got the wicket of Bishal Ghosh for 5 as early as in the 7th over. Udiyan Bose and Smit Patel played responsible innings, making 36 and 26 respectively. Ranji Trophy 2016-17, Round 8 Day 1 report and highlights: Wickets tumble in AND-GOA clash

All the same, Yashpal Sharma garnered much-needed momentum to their faltering innings. Jalaj got the crucial wicket of Bose, while Patel was run-out by Sachin Baby. Warrier came back and made an impact, getting Aniruddha Saha and Gurinder Singh in quick succession.Yashpal was joined by Manisankar Murasingh. The duo added 69 runs for the 8th wicket. Yashpal departed at the score of 50 with his side having 193 runs on the board. Jalaj completed the formalities, dismissing Murasingh for 42 and Rana Dutta for 7.

Basil Tampi, Akshay Chandran and Vinod Kumar got one wicket apiece. In reply, Kerala started cautiously with openers Bhavin Thakkar and Mohammed Azharuddeen making 11 runs for their side. At the end of Day One, Kerala trailed Tripura by 202 runs with 10 wickets in hand.

Brief scores:

Tripura 213 (Yashpal Singh 50, Murasingh 42; Sandeep Warrier 3 for 34) lead Kerala 11 for 0 (Bhavin Thakkar 5*, Mohammed Azharuddeen 6*) by 202 runs