Both the sides got all-out in their first innings on Day 1 itself    Getty Images (Representational Image)
Both the sides got all-out in their first innings on Day 1 itself Getty Images (Representational Image)

In Ranji Trophy 2016-17 Round 8 Day One, Andhra Pradesh and Goa’s encounter saw 20 wickets fall as both the sides got a chance to bat. It was, however, the bowlers who ruled the roost on the opening day’s play. Winning the toss, it was Andhra who got the better of Goa bundling them for 115. Nonetheless, the drama was not over yet at the Railway stadium, Dhanbad as Andhra also succumbed to a paltry total. Bad lights forced early stumps to end batsmen’s miseries on a spin-friendly track. Ranji Trophy 2016-17 Points Table & team standings

Goa were asked to bat first after Andhra’s skipper Hanuma Vihari won the toss. Goa got off to a good start as they were 33 for no loss. Swapnil Asnodkar was the first man to depart for 15 as Bhargav Bhatt got the first scalp of the day. Sumiran Amonkar, Darshan Misal and wicketkeeper-batsman, Saman Dubhasi, got starts but fell before adding anything valuable on board. Andhra’s two bowlers alone wreaked havoc on Goa as Bhargav got 6 wickets while Bukkapattam Bhatt ended with 4 scalps.

In reply to Goa’s 115, Andhra were expected to set the stage on fire and get a humongous lead. Nonetheless, they were in for a shock as they collapsed to 159. Andhra’s glovesman KS Bharat was the lone warrior for his side with a fine 68 but no one else contributed much. Shadab Jakati replied back strongly for Goa picking up 8 wickets to curb Andhra’s advantage and limit their lead to only 44. Nonetheless, Andhra still have a lead which will be essential for them going forward into the match.

Brief scores:

Goa 115 (Sumiran Amonkar 29, Samar Dubhasi 23; Bhargav Bhatt 6 for 36, Bukkapattam Bhatt 4 for 52) trail Andhra 159 (KS Bharat 68, Bhargav Bhatt 25; Shadab Jakati 8 for 53, Amulya Pandrekar 1 for 36) by 44 runs.