Jharkhand spinner Shahbaz Nadeem picked up two wickets and played the supporting role to his side's pacers. File Photo
Jharkhand spinner Shahbaz Nadeem picked up two wickets and played the supporting role to his side’s pacers. File Photo

A collective effort by their bowlers saw Jharkhand take a massive 190-run lead against Assam on Day Two of the Round 8, Group B Ranji Trophy encounter at the Dr PVG Raju ACA Sports Complex in Vizianagaram. Pacer Rahul Shukla, who has been a part of Mumbai Indians, Rajasthan Royals and Delhi Daredevils, led the attack from the front picking up 4 for 48 and breaking the back of Assam s batting. He was well supported by fellow pacers Ajay Yadav and Ashish Kumar, who took 2 wickets each. Veteran spinner Shahbaz Nadeem also picked up 2 wickets to wrap up Assam innings for 126 in reply to their team s first-innings effort of 316. Ranji Trophy 2016-17 Points Table & team standings.

Assam lost their opener Rishav Das early today, when he was caught by Ishank Jaggi off Ajay Yadav s bowling. Pallav Kumar Das and Sibsankar Roy then added 38 runs for second wicket the biggest partnership of Assam s innings. But once Das (30) was removed by Shukla, Assam s collapse began as they kept losing wickets on regular intervals and ended with 126, thus conceding a 190-run lead. Apart from Das, only skipper Arun Karthick (27) could get a start, as remaining batsmen struggled against the Jharkhand attack.

Earlier, Jharkhand started the second day from their overnight score of 251 for 4, with Jaggi unbeaten on 80. However, the batsman could add just 13 more runs to his account and missed out on his 15th First-Class hundred when he was trapped in front of the stumps by Arup Das. Former India Under-19 skipper Ishan Kishan fell for 10 and Jharkhand innings soon folded for 316. For Assam, pacer Krishna Das took 4, while Arup Das and Abu Nechim Ahmed picked 2 wickets each. Dhiraj Goswami took a wicket while Ajay Yadav was run out.

Brief scores:

Jharkhand 316 (Ishank Jaggi 93, Saurabh Tiwary 88; Krishna Das 4 for 65, Abu Nechim Ahmed 2 for 38, Arup Das 2 for 101) lead Assam 126 (Pallav Kumar Das 30, KB Arun Karthick 27; Rahul Shukla 4 for 48, Ashish Kumar 2 for 21, Shahbaz Nadeem 2 for 24, Ajay Yadav 2 for 26) by 190 runs.