Getty Images (Representation Image)
Tripura bundled out for Kerala for 193 runs on Day 2 Getty Images (Representation Image)

Starting Day Two, Kerala would have hoped to attain a big lead over Tripura, which was not the case eventually. Manishankar Murasingh and Sanjay Majumder rattled the Kerala batting line-up to hand their team a slender first-innings lead of 20 runs. Kerala lost Bhavin Thakkar early on Day Two, as Rana Dutta cleaned up the opener for 7 runs. Mohammed Azharuddeen continued to deny the Tripura bowlers his wicket, as he held one end for his side. Rohan Prem got out for a 7-ball duck to Murasingh. Majumder soon got into the reckoning, getting Kerala’s in-form batsman Jalaj Saxena. Saxena, who has been consistent with the bat for Kerala missed out this time around, getting out for 18 runs, handing Majumder his first wicket.

Much to the jubilation of Tripura, Azharuddeen departed for 40 valuable runs in context of the game, as Majumder got him leg-before. Sachin Baby and Salman Nizar constructed a 54-run stand for their side which helped Kerala cross the 100-run mark. Nizar fell victim to a fuller ball by Abhijit Dey, making 83-ball 25. Sachin Baby could not carry his bat and soon departed as well, as Majumder claimed his third victim.

Iqbal Abdualla also in a attempt to make quick runs handed Majumder his fourth scalp, as the finished with figures of 4 for 43. On the other hand, Akshay Chandran showed resilient and added much needed runs for his team. The tail could not do much against Murasingh’s pace as they too collapsed like nine pin. Vinod Kumar went for 4, while Basil Thampi added just 14 runs to his side’s score. Murasingh added fourth in his kitty with the wicket of Sandeep Warrier for just 1.

In reply, Tripura s second innings started steadily with Bishal Ghosh and Udiyan Bose remaining unbeaten on 4 and 13 respectively at the score of 13 for no loss. Going into stumps on Day Two, Tripura had an overall lead of 37 runs with all their wickets intact.

Brief scores:

Tripura 213 (Yashpal Singh 50, Murasingh 42; Sandeep Warrier 3 for 34) & 17 for no loss (Bishal Ghosh 4*, Udiyan Bose 13*) lead Kerala 193 (Mohammed Azharuddeen 40, Akshay Chandran 36; Sanjay Majumder 4 for 43 ) by 37 runs.