Biplab Samantray took 4 wickets in second innings to Odisha win the match    Getty Images (Representational Image)
Biplab Samantray took 4 wickets in second innings to Odisha win the match Getty Images (Representational Image)

Odisha defeated Maharashtra by an innings and 118 runs in the ongoing Round 8 of the Ranji Trophy 2016-17, which was played at the Krishnagiri Stadium, Wayanad. Maharashtra were enforced a follow-on as they were bundled out for just 94 runs in their first innings, replying to the total of 319 that Odisha had amassed. Biplab Samantray took 4 wickets for 34 in the second innings to bowl out Maharashtra for just 117 runs in the second innings. Suryakant Pradhan also took 3 wickets in the second innings conceding just 36 runs. Ranji Trophy 2016-17 Points Table & team standings

Batting first, Odisha were bowled out for 319 runs which included useful knocks of 89 and 58 from Samantray and Deepak Behera respectively while Anupam Sanklecha was the pick of the bowlers for Maharashtra, as he took 5 wickets for 75 while Mohsin Sayyed took 3 wickets for 65 runs. Following the total of 319, Maharashtra never really got going and were eventually bundled out for just 94. Sanklecha was the top scorer for Maharashtra as he scored 18. For Odisha, Pradhan took 4 wickets conceding 34 runs in the first innings and was helped by Behera and Basant Mohanty who took 3 wickets each.

Odisha had a healthy lead of 225 runs in the second innings and hence enforced Maharashtra follow-on. The batting woes continued for Maharashtra once again in the second innings as they were bowled out for a paltry total of 107, eventually losing the match by an innings and 118 runs. Vishant More top scored for Maharashtra in the second innings with 29.

With this win, Odisha have now accumulated 7 points in their kitty while Maharashtra have not even opened their account.

Brief scores:

Odisha319 (Biplab Samantray 89, Deepak Behera 58; Anupam Sanklecha 75 for 5) won vs Maharashtra 98 and 107 (Vishant More 29, Anupam Sanklecha 22; Biplab Samantray 34 for 4) by an innings and 118 runs