Aaron, who is part of the India A team currently playing in Australia, will lead the Jharkhand team Getty Images

Speedster Varun Aaron will lead the 15-member Jharkhand team in the upcoming Ranji Trophy commencing from October 6, Jharkhand State Cricket Association (JSCA) officials said today. Aaron, who is part of the India A team currently playing in Australia, will lead the Jharkhand team, said JSCA secretary Rajesh Verma. Announcing the team here, Verma said middle-order batsman Pratyush Singh will be the only new face in the team, which comprised of seven bowlers, including three spinners. Also read: Yuvraj to lead Punjab in opening match against Railways

Jharkhand will start their campaign against Maharashtra at Delhi from October 6, he said, expressing confidence that the team will perform to its potential this season. Batsman Anand Singh, who impressed the selectors with his performance in the Under-23 team, has been elevated to the senior team based on merit, Verma said. Aaron made his debut for India against West Indies in 2011. So far, he has played 9 Tests, taking 18 wickets at 52.61. And in 9 One-Day Internationals (ODIs), he has taken 11 wickets at 38.09. Also read: Pujara, Jadeja to miss Saurashtra’s opening 3 fixtures

All the same, Aaron averages 33.39 in 40 First-Class matches he has played, including 4 four-wicket hauls and 5 five-wicket hauls. He made headlines when he clocked 153 kph during Vijay Hazare Trophy final in 2010-11, against Gujarat. And that’s how he made it to the Indian team. A product of MRF pace academy, his talent was spotted when he was 15. He will turn a new leaf now. Being the captain of a team will add more responsibility on his strong shoulders. Also read: Mumbai announce squad for opening match; Shreyas Iyer left out

Squad: Varon Aaron (c), Ishan Kishan, S P Gautam, Anand Singh, Virat Singh, Ishan Jaggi, Saurabh Tiwari, Pratyush Singh, Kaushal Singh, Ajay Yadav, Vikash Singh, Ashish Kumar, Samar Quadri, Shahbaz Nadeem, Sunny Gupta