Wriddhiman Saha (L) and Mohammed Shami    AFP
Wriddhiman Saha (L) and Mohammed Shami AFP

Ranji Trophy 2017-18: Bengal have announced a 15-man squad for their semi-final clash versus Delhi at Pune. Both the sides will square off in the first semi-final, whereas Karnataka take on Vidarbha in the second semi-final at Eden Gardens, Kolkata. The Manoj Tiwary-led side have been bolstered with the addition of Team India stars Wriddhiman Saha and Mohammed Shami. Their inclusion will hold Bengal in good stead ahead of the all-important knockout versus Delhi.

Bengal ousted defending champions Gujarat (by virtue of a big first-innings lead) to enter the semi-finals. On the other hand, Delhi defeated Madhya Pradesh comfortably to reach the last four. Though Delhi would be confident of toppling two-time champions, Bengal, they face a tough task following Shami and Saha’s inclusion. Both the players return to the state side after missing out on the quarter-finals due to national duties. While the pair of Ashok Dinda and Shami accounted for 48 out of 94 wickets taken by the side in the group stages, Saha’s presence behind the stumps will be priceless.

Saha did not have a memorable outing with the gloves in his last international appearance, third Test versus Sri Lanka at Feroz Shah Kotla, but will be expected to comeback stronger.

Bengal last won the championship in 1989-90, while Delhi lifted their last title in 2007-08 season.

Bengal squad: Manoj Tiwary (c), Sudip Chatterjee (vc), Abhimanyu Easwaran, Wriddhiman Saha (wk), Sreevats Goswami (wk), Anustup Majumder, Abhishek Raman, Aamir Gani, Pradipta Pramanik, Ashok Dinda, Mohammed Shami, Mukesh Kumar, Kanishk Seth, B Amit, Wrritick Chatterjee.