Hanuma Vihari    IANS
Hanuma Vihari IANS

At Vizianagram: Skipper Hanuma Vihari s maiden triple-century propelled Andhra to 584 for 5 before they declared the innings against Odisha. With an overnight score of 278 for 2, Vihari put a double-century stand with Ricky Bhui (100) and tormented Odisha further. Vihari s 456-ball 302* consisted of 29 fours and 2 sixes. This was also his 13th First-Class century. Bhui, on the other hand, brought up his fourth First-Class century before he was trapped LBW. Odisha s Suryakant Pradhan scalped 2 wickets. Odisha suffered an early jolt later in the day, losing Natraj Behera in the 12 overs they batted.

Brief scores:

Andhra 584 for 5 decl. (Prasanth Kumar 123, Hanuma Vihari 302*, Ricky Bhui 100; Suryakant Pradhan 2 for 106) lead Odisha 32 for 1 (Sandeep Pattnaik 14*, Govinda Poddar 14*; Bhargav Bhatt 1 for 12) by 552 runs.

At Mumbai: After an early collapse, Baba Indrajith s fighting century (105*) came to Tamil Nadu s rescue. The Mumbai bowlers were successful in removing a heavy top order comprising of Murali Vijay, Kaushik Gandhi, Abhinav Mukund and Vijay Shankar, leaving Tamil Nadu reeling at 69 for 4. Then Indrajith and Washington Sundar together took their side to 239. Their 157-run stand was broken by Dhawal Kulkarni towards the final hour of the last session.

Earlier, Mumbai managed to add 60 runs to their overnight score of 314 for 7. Tamil Nadu spinners Shankar and Ravichandran Ashwin shared 7 wickets between them.

Brief scores:

Mumbai 374 (Prithvi Shaw 123, Shreyas Iyer 57, Aditya Tare 53; Ravichandran Ashwin 3 for 78, Vijay Shankar 4 for 52) lead Tamil Nadu 239 for 5 (Baba Indrajith 105*, Washington Sundar 69) by 135 runs.

At Agartala: Madhya Pradesh had a not-so-impressive day at office. Rajat Patidar and Harpreet Singh notched up fifties and added 104, but only one other batsman reached double figures. Efforts from Manisankar Murasingh, Gurinder Singh and Rana Dutta reduced Madhya Pradesh to 201 for 7 at close of Day Two.

Resuming at 88 for 6, Tripura bounced back putting up 205 on board. Bishal Ghosh (65) and Gurinder (57) put the pressure back on Madhya Pradesh. No. 11 Abhijit Sarkar chipped in as well with an 18-ball 32. Ishwar Pandey and Ankit Sharma ended with 3 wickets apiece.

Brief scores:

Tripura 205 (Bishal Ghosh 65, Gurinder Singh 57; Ishwar Pandey 3 for 40, Ankit Sharma 3 for 61) lead Madhya Pradesh 201 for 7 (Rajat Patidar 79, Harpreet Singh 70; Manisankar Murasingh 2 for 14) by 4 runs.