Anureet Singh ended with 6 wickets in the match    AFP
Anureet Singh ended with 6 wickets in the match AFP

Just like the first two days, the match between Maharashtra and Hyderabad remained washed out. As for the remaining matches of Group A in Ranji Trophy 2017-18, Railways managed to upset Uttar Pradesh by 21 runs and earn 6 points. Meanwhile, Delhi continued their dominance over Assam.

Opting to bat, Railways saw minimal inputs from their batsmen. Nitin Bhalle (42) and Ashish Yadav (53) were the only ones who managed to provide impetus and take them to a par score of 182. Zeeshan Ansari and Ankit Rajpoot took 6 wickets combined and wrapped Railways for 182. In response, Uttar Pradesh batsmen were unable to replicate the good work displayed by their bowlers. Akshdeep Nath scored 75 off 160 balls. He received ample support from Rinku Singh (42) to help Uttar Pradesh reach 250. Railways’ Anureet Singh and Avinash Yadav scalped 3 wickets each.

Railways’ dismal performance continued in the second essay as only 4 batsmen managed to get to a double-digit score. Tottering at 41 for 3, Arindam Ghosh removed Railways from ruins. His 160-ball fifty and 86-run stand with Vidhyadhar Kamat pushed them to 161. Nevertheless, Rajpoot and Ansari shared 7 wickets to wipe out the tail and set up a target of 94 to win.

Railways, however, covered up their batting failure with a clinical bowling performance. Uttar Pradesh s batsmen fell one after the other. They were brought down to 28 for 6 by the 10th over, courtesy Anureet and Avinash. Suresh Raina did try to resurrect the innings, adding 29 runs to the board. But the skipper succumbed to spinner Deepak Bansal. Deepak and Avinash went on to wipe off the tail, while Rinku remained unbeaten on 23.

Brief scores:

Railways 182 & 161 all out (Arindam Ghosh 57, Vidhyadhar Kamat 30; Ankit Rajpoot 4 for 34, Zeeshan Ansari 3 for 47) beat Uttar Pradesh 250 & 72 all out (Suresh Raina 29; Avinash Yadav 4 for 26, Anureet Singh 3 for 25) by 21 runs.

Man of the Match: Avinash Yadav

Beginning their day with an overnight score of 269 for 4, Delhi added 139 runs on Day Three. Gautam Gambhir had already stitched a double-century partnership with Nitish Rana. The duo had got to their centuries as well. Where Rana was dismissed for 110, Gambhir remained unbeaten on 136 on Day Two. However, Gambhir s stay was outdone in the early hour of Day Three.

Thereafter, Anuj Rawat and Manan Sharma took the centre stage. Anuj got to his debut First-Class fifty while Manan provided able support with a fifty. They shared a 122-run stand to take Delhi beyond 400-run mark. After Manan was dismissed for 69, the wickets kept tumbling until Assam finally bundled them out for 435 with a lead of 177. The only takeaway for Assam was Abu Nechim s figures of 7 for 68.

Assam, in return, lost wickets in quick succession. The openers barely added 6 runs to the board with Navdeep Saini making early inroads. The final wicket for the day belonged to debutant Kulwant Khejroliya. Assam trailed by 117 runs with Sibsankar Roy and Tarjinder Singh playing on 28 and 8 respectively.

Brief scores:

Assam 258 all out & 60 for 3 (Sibsankar Roy 28*; Navdeep Saini 2 for 13) trail Delhi 435 all out (Gautam Gambhir 137, Nitish Rana 110, Anuj Rawat 71; Abu Nechim 7 for 68) by 117 runs.