Ashok Dinda claimed 7 wickets against Chhattisgarh    Getty Images
Ashok Dinda claimed 7 wickets against Chhattisgarh Getty Images

Bengal vs Chhattisgarh

Being reduced to 80 for 5, Chhattisgarh were bundled out for 110, courtesy Ashok Dinda s 7 for 21. His previous best figures of 7 for 19 for Bengal came against Odisha in 2015-16 season. Mohammed Shami also lent a helping hand scalping 2 wickets. Chhattisgarh s Ashutosh Singh played a lone battle adding half the runs to the team s total. A follow on was enforced after which Chhattisgarh s woes continued. Barring the second wicket stand of 172 between opener Abhimanyu Chauhan and Ashutosh, none of the batsmen could replicate their success. Abhimanyu got to his century while Ashutosh brought up a fifty in the second essay as well.

Bengal s Mohammed Shami tormented the host ending Day 3 with figures of 4 for 45 while first essay star Dinda went wicketless.

Earlier, Bengal scored a mammoth 529 for 7, courtesy centuries from Sudip Chatterjee and Koushik Gandhi. Bengal also witnessed fifties from the opener Abhishek Raman and tail-end batsman Anustup Majumdar to take Bengal beyond 500-run mark.

Brief scores:

Bengal 529 for 7 (Sudip Chatterjee 118, Koushik Ghosh 114, Anustup Majumdar 70*; Shubham Singh 4 for 162) lead Chhattisgarh 110 & 229 for 5 (Abhimanyu Chauhan 115, Ashutosh Singh 71; Mohammed Shami 4 for 45) by 190 runs

Vidarbha vs Punjab

In the second game, Vidarbha gained an easy win over Punjab by an innings and 117 runs. With this Vidarbha earn 6 points.

Opting to bat, Punjab were reduced to 161, courtesy a clinical performance by Vidarbha bowlers. Lalit Yadav and Siddesh Neral shared 6 wickets while Rajneesh Gurbani and the ambidextrous Akshay Karnewar scalped 2 wickets each. After the collapse of the top and middle order, wicketkeeper Abhishek Gupta s 89 was the only talking point for Punjab. Manan Vohra, Yuvraj Singh failed to produce runs from their willow.

In response, Vidarbha stormed over the Vidarbha bowlers. After openers added a 61 runs for opening wicket, Sanjay Ramaswamy and Ganesh Satish s centuries boosted an otherwise meek Vidarbha batting line-up. Their centuries took Vidarbha to 505, stretching lead to 344. Abhishek Sharma was the only bowler who lifted Punjab s spirits at regular intervals ending with a 4-wickets haul. On the other hand, Manpreet Gony and Sandeep Sharma shared 4 wickets.

Punjab s bout in the second essay came to an end against Vidarbha s spinners, Akshay Wakhare and Karnewar. They shared 10 wickets to inflict an innings defeat and end the game within Day Three. Manan s fifty, Yuvraj s 42 and Abhishek Sharma s 49 went in vain.

Brief scores:

Punjab 161 & 227 all out (Manan Vohra 51, Abhishek Sharma 49; Akshay Karnewar 6 for 47, Akshay Wakhare 4 for 83) lose to Vidarbha 505 all out (Sanjay Ramaswamy 161, Ganesh Satish 164; Abhishek Sharma 4 for 136) by an innings and 117 runs.

Man of the Match: Ganesh Satish

Goa vs Himachal Pradesh

Following openers Ankush Bains and Priyanshu Khanduri s path, Nikhil Gangta brought up an unbeaten century while Amit Kumar missed his by 3 runs. Gangta on the way built crucial partnerships with Paras Dogra (57), Kumar (178) and Ankit Kaushik (20). Centuries from Bains, Khanduri and Gangta built the lead to 269 as Himachal declared their innings at 625 for 7.

In response, Goa openers came well. Sumiran Amonkar and Swapnil Asnodkar remained unbeaten on 67 and 51 respectively. They have brought up 131 on board, trailing by 239 on Day 3 of Round 2 of Ranji Trophy 2017-18.

Earlier, Pankaj Jasiwal picked 4 wickets to bowl out Goa for 255.

Brief scores:

Goa 255 & 131 for no loss (Sumiran Amonkar 67*, Swapnil Asnodkar 51*) trail Himachal Pradesh 627 for 7 (Priyanshu Khanduri 117, Ankush Bains 143, Nikhil Gangta 127*; Saurabh Bandekar 2 for 140) by 239 runs.