Vidarbha's Faiz Fazal. Photo Courtesy: BCCI Twitter Handle
Vidarbha’s Faiz Fazal. Photo Courtesy: BCCI Twitter Handle

At Porvorim: Punjab have tightened the screws over Goa in the penultimate day of Round 2 of Ranji Trophy 2017-18. After posting a mammoth 635, Punjab had reduced Goa to 94 for 1 yesterday. Goa continued to play catch-up on Day Three. Raghu Sharma, Vinay Chowdhary and Siddharth Kaul shared 9 wickets between them to fold Goa s first innings for 246. Soft dismissals and wickets at regular intervals derailed Goa. Following on after a 389-run deficit, Goa are 67 for 2 and need a spirited effort to save the match.

Brief scores:

Punjab 635 (Jiwanjot Singh 238, Anmolpreet Singh 113, Gurkeerat Singh 114; Shadab Jakati 5 for 165) lead Goa 246 (Sagun Kamat 47; Vinay Chowdhary 3 for 72, Raghu Sharma 4 for 50) and 67 for 2 (Swapnil Asnodkar 26, Sagun Kamat 26*; Vinay Chowdhary 1 for 11, Siddharth Kaul 1 for 12) by 322 runs.

At Delhi (Karnail Singh Stadium): In an action-packed day, Himachal pushed Services to the wall and require 9 wickets to stamp their authority in the match. Resuming from 153 for 6, Services were bundled out for 215 against Gurvinder Singh and Akash Vasisht.

Ahead by 149, Himachal declared at 176 for 9 riding on lower-order contributions mainly from Rishi Dhawan and Vasisht. In pursuit of 326, Services are 28 for 1 runs at stumps.

Brief scores:

Himachal Pradesh 364 and 176 for 9 decl. (Rishi Dhawan 40, Akash Vasisht 44; Rinku Singh 3 for 37) lead Services 215 and 28 for 1 (Ravi Chauhan 14*; Gurvinder Singh 1 for 2) by 298 runs.

At Nagpur: Chhattisgarh and Vidarbha s clash is heading towards a draw. After posting 489 courtesy Amandeep Khare (210) and Ashutosh Singh (113), Chhattisgarh bowlers restricted Vidarbha to 331 for 6. Vidarbha s Faiz Fazal carved out a responsible innings and forged valuable partnership with senior pro Wasim Jaffer to keep his side in the hunt. Ganesh Satish s 39 and unbeaten stand between Apoorv Wankhade and Karn Sharma have set up a challenging Day Four ahead. The valuable first-innings lead will be in both teams minds when they resume on Friday.

Brief scores:

Chhattisgarh 489 (Ashutosh Singh 113, Amandeep Khare 210, Jatin Saxena 68; Umesh Yadav 3 for 87, Karn Sharma 3 for 139, Akshay Wakhare 3 for 99) lead Vidarbha 331 for 6 (Faiz Fazal 125, Wasim Jaffer 50, Ganesh Satish 39; PR Sharma 2 for 70, Sumit Ruikar 2 for 82) by 158 runs.