Shreyas Iyer    AFP
Shreyas Iyer AFP

At Agartala: Mihir Hirwani (5 for 22) and Ankit Sharma (4 for 51) landed Madhya Pradesh to the top of Group C. They have pocketed a crucial bonus point thumping Tripura by 10 wickets. Madhya Pradesh s overall points tally now reads 14.

Beginning the day at 200 for 7, Madhya Pradesh posted 260, thus securing a lead of 55. Ishwar Pandey s 47 was instrumental in pushing Madhya Pradesh beyond the 250-run mark. The onus fell on the bowlers, and Hirwani and Sharma romped through Tripura s batting line-up. After bowling out Tripura for 103 in 44 overs, Madhya Pradesh required only 49 to win.

Openers Harpreet Singh (25*) and Rajat Patidar s (25*) 50-run stand ended the task for Madhya Pradesh after lunch.

Brief scores:

Tripura 205 and 103 (Rajesh Banik 29; Mihir Hirwani 5 for 22, Ankit Sharma 4 for 51) lost to Madhya Pradesh 260 and 52 for no loss (Harpreet Singh 25*, Rajat Patidar 25*) by 10 wickets.

Man of the Match: Harpreet Singh.

At Mumbai: An evenly poised game saw Tamil Nadu edge ahead of Mumbai. Yo Mahesh s unbeaten 103 saw them taking a first-innings lead of 76. Baba Indrajith top-scored for Tamil Nadu with 152. He added 52 with Mahesh after Ravichandran Ashwin and N Jagadeeshan fell cheaply. However, Tamil Nadu lost Indrajith before lunch, and were still behind by 29. Then Mahesh loosened his arms. He brought up his maiden First-Class century while a patient Rahil Shah playing second fiddle.

In response, Mumbai lost their first-essay centurion Prithvi Shaw. However, Shreyas Iyer covered the deficit, bringing up an unbeaten 58-ball 56 along with Akhil Herwadkar (24*). The innings will provide Iyer with much-needed confidence before India s T20I series against New Zealand. Their unbeaten 79-run stand left Mumbai leading by 9 runs.

Brief scores:

Mumbai 374 and 85 for 1 (Shreyas Iyer 56*, Akhil Herwadkar 24*; Vijay Shankar 1 for 27) lead Tamil Nadu 450 (Baba Indrajith 152, Yo Mahesh 103; Vijay Gohil 4 for 129) by 9 runs.

At Vizianagram: Andhra had probably eyed an outright win after putting up 584. However, Odisha kept them at bay courtesy skipper Govinda Poddar s 111 and Subhranshu Senpati s 91. Then they lost wickets and were reduced to 294 for 6. They now trail by 290.

Odisha looked in good stead despite losing their openers on Day Two. Then Poddar and Senapati added 185. The two batsmen were scalped in span of two overs by KV Sasikanth and Bhargav Bhatt. Bhatt claimed three wickets while Sasikanth ended with 2.

Brief scores:

Andhra 584 for 5 (Prasanth Kumar 127, Hanuma Vihari 302, Ricky Bhui 100; Suryakant Pradhan 2 for 106) lead Odisha 294 for 6 (Govinda Poddar 111, Subhranshu Senapati 91; Bhargav Bhatt 3 for 66) by 290 runs.