Yusuf Pathan slammed his second century of the match but could not prevent Baroda's defeat    AFP
Yusuf Pathan slammed his second century of the match but could not prevent Baroda’s defeat AFP

Madhya Pradesh vs Baroda, Indore

Yusuf Pathan‘s second hundred of the match and the 10th of his First-Class career could not prevent Madhya Pradesh’s (MP) outright win against Baroda. Following on, Baroda were 41 for 1 at stumps on Day Three. They would have hoped for a point at least by playing out a draw. Pacers Ishwar Pandey and Avesh Khan triggered a collapse and Baroda were reduced to 68 for 7 before another heroic knock from Yusuf came to rescue. He added 218 for the eighth wicket with Atit Sheth. Sheth, a 21-year-old medium-pacer slammed his maiden First-Class hundred.

Yusuf ran out of partners as Pandey claimed his 11th five-for of his career to restrict Baroda’s lead to 69. It promised a repeat of the Railways-Uttar Pradesh contest when MP were reduced to 0 for 2 after 3 balls with Sheth sending back Waseem Ahmed and Naman Ojha back in the hut. But Rajat Patidar and Harpreet Singh ensured there were no more jitters as they walloped an outright win to bag six points.

Brief scores:

Madhya Pradesh 551 for 8 decl. (Devendra Bundela 99, Shubham Sharma 196, Ankit Sharma 104; Swapnil Singh 3 for 136) and 73 for 2 (Harpreet Singh 44*; Atit Sheth 2 for 19) beat Baroda 302 (Yusuf Pathan 111, Irfan Pathan 80; Ishwar Pandey 2 for 44) and 318 (Yusuf Pathan 136*, Atit Sheth 109; Ishwar Pandey 5 for 40, Mihir Hirwani 3 for 77) by 8 wickets.

Man of the Match: Shubham Sharma

Tamil Nadu vs Andhra, Chennai

Tamil Nadu (TN) and Andhra tussled in a gruelling last day’s play. Andhra lost 7 wickets in their pursuit of 218 and fell short of an outright win by 20 runs. Andhra, who dominated most of the match, could not repeat their bowling heroics of first innings.

TN skipper Abhinav Mukund fell for 95. Murali Vijay, who was injured on Day Three, returned to strike 55. Baba Aparajith slammed his sixth First-Class hundred to help TN to 350. They made a declaration setting a target of 218.

TN had their hopes pinned on Ravichandran Ashwin. However, Ashwin responded with 2 wickets and went for almost 6 an over, giving Andhra an edge in the chase. However, Andhra also lost wickets at regular intervals and eventually ended 7 down but 20 runs short. Andhra will, however, be happy with 3 points as TN got only 1 from their home game.

Brief scores:

Tamil Nadu 176 (Baba Aparajith 51; Y Prithvi Raj 3 for 39, Bhargav Bhatt 4 for 52) and 350 for 6 decl. (Abhinav Mukund 95, Murali Vijay 55, Baba Aparajith 108*; Y Prithvi Raj 3 for 61) drew with Andhra 309 (B Sumanth 109, K Ashwin Hebbar 64; Ravichandran Ashwin 4 for 71, K Vignesh 3 for 73) and 198 for 7 (KS Bharat 64, Ricky Bhui 40; K Vignesh 3 for 34).

Man of the Match: B Sumanth

Odisha vs Tripura, Cuttack

Heavy rains at Cuttack had allowed only 2 overs of cricket in the first three days of this game. The fourth day saw a century from Tripura opener Udiyan Bose. They declared at 194 for 8. Odisha batted 5 overs to score 18 for 1. The game ended in a draw with both sides sharing a point each.

Brief scores:

Tripura 194 for 8 decl. (Udiyan Bose 104; Dhiraj Singh 5 for 55) drew with Odisha 18 for 1.